sometimes i use another name in public

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cell

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
like when i go to starbucks, i end up giving the person behind the counter daisy's name for my order because i hate when my real name is butchered. but now, these people know me from before and call me by another name. im a dork:duh:

Ah, yes, I always do this too. My restaurant name is "Liz", which really is my name, in English. I don't care if people call me Liz, Lies (leeeees) with a hard or soft 's', or Liesje (leesheh), but I don't even respond to Lisa or lies. Oh and if they ask for my full name, I give a blank stare.

I've had at least two names my entire life. I've been thinking of adding more.

Mine always gets butchered; I'm used to it though and as a teacher, I'm all too aware how easy it is to butcher unfamiliar names which look like they'd be easy enough to pronounce but turn out not to follow the expected phonetic conventions.

My dad does this at restaurants because our last name seems to be quite difficult for some to pronounce.

when i'm on the phone with someone at work, you should hear the crazy names people come up with. :|

someone i work with is named abby, someone called her arby yesterday. wtf.

When we would go to IHOP, Ron would put our names down as Tommy and Pamela. :rolleyes:
And when were called over the intercom, we would get the funniest stares.

Other times he would tell them Adam. :adam:

If I got parted from who ever I was with in a very large store, I would have them page 'Paul Hewson'.

:reject:

Mr. BAW said:
I had a friend a long time ago...whenever we'd go out, he'd put in the name of Beach just to hear the hostess call out, "Beach Party! Beach party of 10!" :shrug:

:lmao:

I hear you. My first name is Leif, pronounced like "life", but English speakers always call me like "leave".