Piercing question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shaynar

Acrobat
I want to get my bellybutton pierced. I'm totally psyched about it but I just found out it can take 4-6 months to heal and within that time I'm not allowed to go swimming or submerge under water at all. Now I'm not sure b/c I'm supposed to go away in a few months. Does anyone have any experience with this? Anything would help!

Thanks!

I had this done right after I graduated high school and was thin. :wink: I was a lifeguard that summer and yes, you can get your piercing wet. It can take 4-6 months to heal. Some people's piercings don't heal though. Mine never really did. Depends on how your body reacts to it.

I had mine pierced when I was 16. I was never told I couldn't go swimming or anything like that. I never had a problem with mine and from memory, I don't think it took anywhere near 4 - 6 months to heal.

I took mine out towards the end of my first pregnancy and couldn't get it back in afterwards. I now have an awful looking scar where it used to be and wish I never got it done!

I got mine done when I was 18. It took a month or so to heal. I was told not to go swimming or anything, but I did anyways, since I got it done in the spring. I had no problems with infections or anything. :shrug: I guess it's different for everyone. Good luck!

Ouch Mr Baw! :yikes: As for the belly button piercing I think you will be ok with getting it done. I had a couple of friends who did it and they got it wet with no problem. Maybe it depends on who does the piercing with the instructions they give.