Ode to Stalin: Cult of Personality

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The Wanderer

Kid A
"Stalinism"

After the Curtain has fallen over the Red sky
May your nights become a stream of dark epilogues
Drowning you in the shapeless waves of reproach
Drink the lithium moonlight from the sky's loaded gun
Swim you evil fuck -- in your Death.

Great Stuff!

I've always wanted to write something like that about Hitler or Franco, but never had the 'poison pen' so to speak. Have you ever noticed how Napoleon has always been lumped together with these figures and I've always found it puzzling- He was no worse than King George III in my opinion.

BTW Wanderer are you a journo? I'm studying final year high school and am on the shortlist for a cadetship at the local daily. Wondering if I could ask you about it.

all these writers in our midst...

such rich stuff, my friend
those lines are bubbling over with power and then that last line..hits you like a mac truck

Brettig!!! Oh my goodness...you are so mature! I swear I thought you were a lot older than that. A writer Id say you'll be. Good luck with the cadetship

thanks brettig...

Napolean, funny I always liked Bonaparte... I had my picture taken in front of his statue in Versailles... how cool is that, huh? Me and Napolean
smile.gif

anyway, I don't know if I can be much help to you, but if you want you can email me at
zootopia@u2dublin.com and I will try and help you, but I never really went the traditional journalist route, I studied English/ Literature in college

------------------
I went out there
In search of experience
To taste and to touch
And to feel as much
As a man can
Before he repents

oh, hadn't seen your comments yet zooropamanda, thanks, one of those moments at the Uni when I was feeling a bit idealistic, and thinking about how fuckers like Stalin have raped humanity with their evil