HTDAAB and ATYCLB: a political critique

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SATYAdaimoku

Babyface
I put this on the review thread, but since it is only semi-relevant to an album review, I thought it was worthy of its own thread. Note, again, that this was originally written for my own livejournal blog (as a newbie, I can't post links, but its www livejournal com / users / satyadaimoku). As such, the writing isn't really meant for U2 diehards, but believe me, i've been as hardcore a u2 fan as anyone over the past 15 years.

First of all, and before there is any question about this, I think it is a really good album. It's not as good as the big three of Achtung Baby, Rattle and Hum or Joshua Tree, but it is a solid CD with a lot of good tracks that I have enjoyed the first couple of times through (and, generally speaking, I'm likely to end up enjoying the album more on each successive time listening to it).

However, at the same time, the album has crystalized for me some of the ambiguous feelings I had about All That You Can't Leave Behind. Like that album, Dismantle is so melodic and sweet and... nice. Really nice. And therein lies the problem.

Let me use an example. The best song on HTDAAB (even the acronym is too damn long) is probably "Love and Peace or Else", a cool song with power chords and a nice sound to it. The song contains the following very nice lyrics:

Lay down your guns,
Are you daughters of Zion?
Are you Abraham's sons?

Isn't that nice? It's an appeal to a conflict torn region by trying to bring them together in lyrics celebrating their common humanity and religious principles. It reminds me of a song I heard once by a band who did the same thing in a different part of the world (what was their name again?)

Broken bottles under childrens feet
Bodies strewn accross the dead end street
But I won't heed the battle call