Summer Rain

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tackleberry

War Child
I recently revisted ATYCLB and wondered a little about "Summer Rain".....

Maybe they could have replaced this song with Grace. I like Grace its a good closer, but Summer Rain maybe could have worked as a better closer. Its really a good song and I'm sad it was left ooff the final album decision.

What yall think?

Also, The Ground Beneth Her Feet on "all" albums, US and rest of the world? This song could have given the 2nd half of the album a boost. Not that this can change anything, but its fun to argue about and discuss.

I think Grace works fine on ATYCLB. I'm not really good at swapping out songs and saying this or that definitely should or should not have been included on an album.
As far as Summer Rain, I seriously love that song (listened to it this morning, so glad it's on the B-sides) but am not sure how it would have fit into the ATYCLB mix. It would have been cool to have another little rocker on there, poor Elevation kicking it all by its lonesome, but for whatever reason the band decided not to include it. Who knows what state Summer Rain was in when the actual album was being put together, maybe it needed extra work and that's why it was put over into the B-side pile.

i don't think it would work to end the album better than "grace". i like the song a lot, i like it a lot more than i like "grace."

but as dsmith, said, yeah we don't really know what state the song was in.

While I personally prefer "Summer Rain" over "Grace", I think that "Grace" is a very beautiful album closer.

ATYCLB tracklisting. What it should've been.

1.Beautiful Day
2.Stuck in a moment
3.Elevation
4.Summer Rain
5.Walk on
6.Kite
7.In a little while
8. Wild honey
9.Peace on earth
10.When I look at the world
11.New York
12.The ground beneath her feet
13.Grace