College Football 2011

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I have no pity for OSU. They lost to a lesser team when it counted most. LSU/OSU would have been cool though.

Can someone please explain to me (I'm not too good at the maths) how 15 in the Harris poll, 15 USA Today and a 17 computer average results in a placement of 18th?

hey. once you guys start talking 'bout averages and stuff, that's math. so i'm out.

I have no pity for OSU. They lost to a lesser team when it counted most. LSU/OSU would have been cool though.

Can someone please explain to me (I'm not too good at the maths) how 15 in the Harris poll, 15 USA Today and a 17 computer average results in a placement of 18th?

Looks like a combination of things:

1. The teams above TCU in the Harris and USA Today polls are not the same as the teams above them in the combined computer poll.

2. Raw scores are added to compute the final BCS score, not rankings, and the gap between TCU's computer poll score and the scores above them are bigger than those in the Harris and USA Today polls. E.g. Oklahoma is .4600 points above TCU in the computer poll, but only .1085 points behind TCU in the Harris poll and only .1315 points behind TCU in the USA Today poll. Baylor and Georgia seem to have similar advantages over TCU as well, being far enough ahead numerically in the computer poll to overcome their disadvantage in the two human polls. The computer polls must really be hammering TCU over strength of schedule.

College football: every game matters until the postseason, and then only one game matters, but hey, it's not like the playoffs are ever exciting in any other sport, right?

At least the OSU-Stanford game should be engaging. My level of interest in LSU-Alabama could not be lower.

Penn State falls to 7th Big Ten bowl tie-in thanks to the scandal. And it's in Dallas! Fun times here, gang, no doubt.