So drummers...how is Bram ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

U2girl

Blue Crack Addict
Now that the opening night audio/video surfaced...how do you rate him ? Is he sticking to studio/Larry parts or is he adding his own touch to the songs?
I only heard Zoo station, which sounded pretty.by.the book. Desire sounds a tad different.

I'm a guitarist, not a drummer, but I've played in bands for 20+ years with a few different drummers. I have listened to most of the songs from last night by this point. I would say that Bram does a very good job of mimicking Larry and sticking true to the source material. He definitely hits the drums harder than Larry does; you can really see this during some of the more intense moments like the end of The Fly or UTEOTW. WGRYWH seems to be the song he's most going off-script and taking a few liberties of his own. Throwing in little fills that Larry would never do, which kind of makes it sound like a cover band.

But overall I'd say he's done a good job and will be a good fit for these shows. He seems like a really nice guy too, and his personal tribute to Larry was a nice touch.

Now that the opening night audio/video surfaced...how do you rate him ? Is he sticking to studio/Larry parts or is he adding his own touch to the songs?
I only heard Zoo station, which sounded pretty.by.the book. Desire sounds a tad different.

U2Girl! :ohmy:

He's a talented drummer, no doubt. He can hit things for a living for sure.

Having said that, I did notice pretty much one or two things in every song that were different. Sometimes less than what I wanted to hear. Sometimes more - the_acrobat mentioned the snare fills on Wild Horses, definitely heard that.