U2 as Poetry

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fmattyh

Acrobat
So I'm in my last semester of college (aka University, for the non-Americans here) and I have to take a basic literature class in order to graduate. One of our assignments is to bring in a poem and read it to the class. Here's the good part - if it's a song, we can play it. Even better, we can play a VIDEO CLIP of it being performed.

I think you know which one I am choosing. :) So here's the thing - how do I decide what video clip to play for the class? I want to do a song with relatively meaningful lyrics - something that will sound OK when I read the lyrics to the class before playing the video (we have to explain the lyrics too). I also want to show a performance that something HAPPENS in. In other words, I want to demonstrate how an effectively performed song can elevate some simple song lyrics into something so much more. So I want a performance that will make everyone instantly become U2 fans, if they're not already.

Ideas? Off-hand, I've thought of a couple ideas... Please would be a good option, especially the performance from the 1997 VMAs. Running to Stand Still from Zoo TV (Sydney) seems like it would be a good choice too. Even The Fly from Boston or Until the End of the World from Slane or elsewhere.

Thoughts? Any other performances that knock your socks off, and have great lyrics to boot?

I would like either Zoo Station or Bullet because they show so much more to the song than just sitting there..

I would also love The Fly from Boston..

"please"....from the extra lil dvd they gave along with the best of 90-00 double cd....i believe it was from rotterdam.....:drool:

best performance IMO...

others i would consider are

streets - Zoo sydney
RTST - Zoo sydney

ya cant really go wrong with ANY of these...good luck :wink: