Is Thom Yorke (Radiohead) a better singer than Bono

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jdelbove

Acrobat
I am no Radiohead expert but I have become very interested in their music and have listened intently to their albums and respect and enjoy much of their work. It has struck me that Yorke is a fantastic vocalist possibly better than Bono. Yorke has an amazing falsetto and a better vabratto than Bono, he also has an interesting tone and can hold notes far longer than Bono. However Bono probaly has more power in his voice and also posses beautiful tone. I know Bono delivers live especily on the last tour. I have never seen Radiohed live so I cant say how Yorke sounds live. It makes me feel wrong to even think that Yorke may be as good or better than Bono because I am a huge U2 and Bono fan. What do u guys think.

Thom Yorke's best attribute is his falsetto. I love it. Of course, back in the days of zooropa when Bono could pull off an amazing falsetto, I loved that even more. Bono's voice is a lot stronger, and I love it more because he's incredibly passionate. Still, I enjoy Yorke's vocals as well.

I'm a huge Radiohead fan, the only album I found to be dissapointing was amnesiac. They're an incredibly innovative band, and amazing live.

But there is no way in hell he's a better singer. Yorke has a good falsetto, yet his tone can be annoying at times. His vabratto isn't anything to write home about not bad, just nothing amazing and there's no way he can hold notes far longer than Bono, not sure what you've been listening to.

But on top of that, neither are perfect singers live, but Yorke lacks a lot of control, he's often off key and can't hold notes much. The only "big band" singers that are worse live are Billy Corgan and Anthony Kiedes.

what kind of an answer did you expect by posing this question in this forum?

ha.