I am desperate for computer help please... my system is fried. - Page 3 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2003, 01:57 PM   #31
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 03:05 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Angel

Totally embarrassed to say this but... I'll need all the discs for those right? I mean, Windows 98 is just Windows... it won't have the microsoft programs on it will it?
Windows 98 is just Windows...you'll need all the discs for the other programs.

Melon
__________________

__________________
melon is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:03 PM   #32
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
Well... all I have on there at the moment is Word, Excel, Adobe and such....
What about all the little stuff? Oh gawd. I sound stupid. Nevermind. I suck.
__________________

__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:07 PM   #33
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:05 AM
You have to download them all again.. msn, aim, shit like that.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:10 PM   #34
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
I know. What about Windows Explorer? That must be part of Windows... hmm what else? I decided I don't care if I sound stupid. What about Settings etc..? that's all part of Windows?
So then... I have Microsoft stuff... like Excel, Word, Imaging...
I have ACDsee, but I think that is freeware available online. Adobe... also freeware.
I have a really basic PC.

There is no way that while formatting C: the system would automatically format D: too? That would be a nightmare.
__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:23 PM   #35
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:05 AM
ACDsee and Adobe and those things you need to download. Browser comes with windows *I believe*.

If you direct it to format C it wont format anything else but that.

I have had a similar nightmare when my hard drive went bad And when I bought a new comp and windows ME sucked so bad it froze every 5 seconds. I've had to re-install things so many times.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 02:52 PM   #36
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
Now I just need to get my hands on this software. Then I think it will all work fine.
It will be good to clean up the C:
If this computer can last me just a little longer... 6 months.. a year. I just can't afford a new PC this year.
__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:08 PM   #37
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
My co-worker just offered to bring in some discs for me tomorrow.

Boy am I going to have a fun weekend. lol
__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:17 PM   #38
Refugee
 
guaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,506
Local Time: 03:05 AM
Umm.. a little late on the uptake I guess..

but if you are wiping your drive, make sure you have all your drivers for all the peripherals that you have, meaning any special cards you bought for the computer. Video cards, modem, network, that type of thing. When you reinstall Windows it will have generic drivers which dont always work for the hardware...

Windows Explorer is part of operating system, Internet Explorer is not...if anything comes bundled with Win98 it may be like IE 4 if you're lucky..that was a long time ago cant remember if it came bundled or not.

All other software is separate, Office - which is Word, Excel, Powerpoint are separate, Adobe, Winzip, all the little stuff not part of WIndows operating system.

Good luck..you should be fine as long as you have all cds that came with your unit....if not you could always use a friends computer to download the stuff you may need, ie. drivers, Internet Explorer, Winzip, and burn to cd then install..but of course make sure when you reinstall windows it recognizes the cd rom..I have had problems where it doesnt see it after reload.

Cheers, just go slow...take your time..itll go fine...
__________________
guaca is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:29 PM   #39
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by guaca
but if you are wiping your drive, make sure you have all your drivers for all the peripherals that you have, meaning any special cards you bought for the computer. Video cards, modem, network, that type of thing. When you reinstall Windows it will have generic drivers which dont always work for the hardware...
I am scared now. I don't know if I will have all that stuff.

I can't do this.
__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:31 PM   #40
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:05 AM
Well, you could always take it to a computer shop

I did when my hard drive went bad and had to get a new hard drive and have win2000 re installed. They installed browsers for me, some programs and even photoshop

Cost me $300 though
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:32 PM   #41
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
I'll totally lose my internet hookup and everything... Dood from the cable company did all that.

__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:37 PM   #42
Refugee
 
guaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,506
Local Time: 03:05 AM
nah you can do it...give me a rundown of your computer, make and model, and give me a list of the stuff you have attached to your computer...see what happens is they install an oem version on your computer which means you dont get the cds..either that or they install the stuff and dont give you the original cds and license as they may have installed it as a favour or what have you..

the main problems I have had is installing Windows 98 and then needing the network drivers for the network cards...and of course you cant get them from the network because your card isnt working...that makes me mad...and the video card uses the pnp generic vga driver which doesnt give you 256 or high colour but rather only 16 and you cant adjust the screen properties...or the CD rom doesnt get recognized - that has happened to me a few times...and Ive had to resort back to old DOS drivers to get it to work..but that doesnt happen alot..and the modem needs its driver...and what else...printers...mostly its the cards though..and if you upgraded your system after the fact, like you bought a new motherboard or something, then sometimes you need to use the cd to install all the firmware and flash the BIOS and whatnot...but all this stuff I tell you - dont let it scare you..9 times out of 10 you dont need anything special..but telling you so you are prepared as best as you can be is all....

have fun
__________________
guaca is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:40 PM   #43
ONE
love, blood, life
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 11,781
Local Time: 03:05 AM
You can download most of the hardware drivers from the manufacturers' websites, if you don't have them on Windows 98. Also try Windows Update *immediately* after the reinstall, because you'll get a lot of updates right there, such as Windows Media Player 9 and Internet Explorer 6 SP1.

I wouldn't worry too much.

Melon
__________________
melon is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:42 PM   #44
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
I don't have any of this stuff. I didn't even think of my printer.
__________________
Angel is offline  
Old 03-13-2003, 03:47 PM   #45
Elvis' Naughty Angel
 
Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: not here
Posts: 4,609
Local Time: 04:05 AM
oh. that sounds less frightening.

how do I find out what drivers etc... I need?
__________________

__________________
Angel is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com