A house doesn’t make a home

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lady luck

Rock n' Roll Doggie
I’ve been listening “Sometimes” for almost eight months now, but I realised just yesterday the truth behind this line and my mind started wandering through other songs and catch phrases of Bono that deal with the theme of house/home.

I think I remember that the first time I read something that goes near to this line, it was in Dunphy’s book “Unforgettable fire”, in the chapter where there’s the story of Bono and it is told about the death of his mother when he was a young boy. That chapter contains a reported phrase by Bono, who said that after the death of his mom, he just felt he had not long a home but he just shared a house with other two men. I remember I felt so sad when I read this, even if I couldn’t understand for real the feeling Bono felt, because I’ve never been in such a situation, luckily.

Other poignant moments in the lyrics Bono wrote and that, in a certain way, regard the theme of house are in the wonderful “Tomorrow”:
“There’s a black car park on the side of the road
Don’t go to the door/Don’t go to the door
I’m going out/I’m going outside, mother”
Every time I hear the song, Bono’s voice chills me and I start shaking, because it gives to me a sense of oppression and a willing to run away that I never felt with any other song.
It is exactly the feeling one has, or better, I have when things get crazy at my house and I feel I have to run away! I live in a family that is ok, but we definitely lack communication and at times I really feel we’re just sharing rooms and not much more. It can be awful: maybe you need to talk, to express your thoughts, but you think you won’t be understood and so I just go and talk in my head “in the silence of my lonely room”.