WMP11!!!???!!! And another question - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2007, 01:50 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 03:03 AM
WMP11!!!???!!! And another question

Fucking A. So with Vista comes WMP11 (windows media player) well it won't let me play DVD's!!! And I don't feel like buy a codec to play dvds. Anyone know of any freeware programs that will allow me to play DVD's?

Also is it easy to mirror stuff from one internal hard drive to another? I am looking at buying a 500 gig HD for my other computer and then mirroring that to the 500 gig.
__________________

__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 01:56 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:03 AM
Re: WMP11!!!???!!! And another question

Quote:
Originally posted by Justin24
Fucking A. So with Vista comes WMP11 (windows media player) well it won't let me play DVD's!!! And I don't feel like buy a codec to play dvds. Anyone know of any freeware programs that will allow me to play DVD's?

My previous versions also had problems playing some DVDs. I thought you've always had to purchase the right codecs? Did your computer or DVD drive come with any software?

Free ones:

http://www.download.com/Artisan-DVD-...ml?tag=lst-0-2

http://www.download.com/AVS-DVD-Play...ml?tag=lst-0-9

http://www.download.com/Advanced-DVD...ml?tag=lst-0-6

http://www.download.com/Amazing-DVD-...ml?tag=lst-0-2
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 02:08 PM   #3
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 03:03 AM
It had software, but when I upgraded they are not their anymore.

Also I want my Microsoft Works back. I don't feel like paying for it again. Any chance of freeware programs or how to fix it Liesje?
__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 03:48 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:03 AM
Why do you want Works? I don't have it b/c I've never used it, only Office (Word). I can't wait for Office 2007

Works came bundled from the manufacturer, not as part of the OS. Wordpad is the word processor that comes with the OS, and I believe Vista has this, or something comparable.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 03:55 PM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 03:03 AM
oh. I don't feel like spending another 180 dollars for Office 2007. Unless you can burn me a copy. LOL Any other suggestions?
__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 04:50 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:03 AM
I don't have a copy yet. I have Office XP (the one before Office 2003) if that works with Vista. I also have Office 2003, but I can't share the license b/c I got it from work.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 05:11 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
ALL ACCESS
 
Justin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Mateo
Posts: 6,716
Local Time: 03:03 AM
hmm. Could you make a copy of office XP? And I will see if it works? I can send u a check??
__________________
Justin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 04:00 AM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
namkcuR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kettering, Ohio
Posts: 10,290
Local Time: 05:03 AM
About the DVD codec thing...finding a standalone codec like that can be a bitch...the easier way to get WMP to play DVDs is to install a different, non-microsoft DVD player software(like WinDVD or PowerDVD or something like that). When one of those gets installed, the proper DVD codec gets installed with it, and after that, WMP will play the DVDs as well.
__________________
namkcuR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 09:36 AM   #9
Halloweenhead
Forum Moderator
 
Bonochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cherry Lane
Posts: 40,816
Local Time: 06:03 AM

Quote:
Originally posted by Justin24
hmm. Could you make a copy of office XP? And I will see if it works? I can send u a check??
I don't think it's wise to publicly offer to pay somebody for an illegal copy of software.

Have you tried Open Office? I haven't tried it myself yet, but I've read good things.
__________________
"Knight in shining Zubaz."

Bonochick [at] interference.com
Bonochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 10:07 AM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:03 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Bonochick


I don't think it's wise to publicly offer to pay somebody for an illegal copy of software.

Have you tried Open Office? I haven't tried it myself yet, but I've read good things.
It's not necessarily illegal (using a valid license not being used on another computer), but he's all set now anyway.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com