which internet browser do you use? - Page 19 - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2006, 12:24 PM   #271
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 03:46 AM
Are we really surprised???

First IE 7 Beta 2 Bug Found

Quote:
An independent researcher needed just 15 minutes to find the first bug in the Beta 2 preview release of Microsoft's Internet Explorer 7 browser.

Tom Ferris, of Mission Viejo, California, published his findings just hours after Microsoft released the beta code. His findings are posted online.

Ferris discovered the bug, which causes Internet Explorer to crash when it tries to read a specially crafted HTML file, using an automated security testing tool, called a "fuzzer," that he wrote to test Microsoft's browsers.

"Whenever they patch, I normally run IE through the fuzzing iterations, just to see if there [is something new]," he says. Ferris posted his findings at 8:30 p.m. Pacific time on Tuesday, the same day IE Beta 2 was released, he says.
__________________

__________________
nbcrusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 01:29 PM   #272
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 03:46 AM
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:35 PM   #273
Blue Crack Addict
 
the rockin edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tomorrow's just an excuse away
Posts: 26,816
Local Time: 05:46 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by nbcrusader
Are we really surprised???
Quote:
An independent researcher needed just 15 minutes to find the first bug in the Beta 2 preview release of Microsoft's Internet Explorer 7 browser.

Tom Ferris, of Mission Viejo, California, published his findings just hours after Microsoft released the beta code. His findings are posted online.

Ferris discovered the bug, which causes Internet Explorer to crash when it tries to read a specially crafted HTML file, using an automated security testing tool, called a "fuzzer," that he wrote to test Microsoft's browsers.

"Whenever they patch, I normally run IE through the fuzzing iterations, just to see if there [is something new]," he says. Ferris posted his findings at 8:30 p.m. Pacific time on Tuesday, the same day IE Beta 2 was released, he says.



15 minutes??? i'm suprised it took that long


__________________
the rockin edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2006, 08:52 PM   #274
Blue Crack Addict
 
u2granny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pious Aires, WA
Posts: 15,191
Local Time: 04:46 AM
I make it a practice to avoid anything Microsoft releases with the word "beta" attached.
__________________
u2granny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 02:05 PM   #275
The Fly
 
The Maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 179
Local Time: 12:46 PM
Been using Firefox for months and months now.

In the last 4 weeks i've been having problems viewing these forums through it though - i only came across this topic by searching for 'firefox' to see if anyone else had similar problems!

It's mainly the images that are messed up for example, the quote/report - image icons next to forums etc

Wouldn't know how to attempt to explain so took some screenshots.

This is what i see on the main index page of the forums

When i click on one of the forums i get this

When i open one of the topics i see this

When i attempt to make a post i get this


Having to use IE to view these forums now which is a nuisance - don't seem to have the same problem anywhere else :-/

Anyone had this before or know how to fix it?

Cheers!
__________________
The Maestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2006, 02:17 PM   #276
Blue Crack Addict
 
the rockin edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: tomorrow's just an excuse away
Posts: 26,816
Local Time: 05:46 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by The Maestro
Been using Firefox for months and months now.

In the last 4 weeks i've been having problems viewing these forums through it though - i only came across this topic by searching for 'firefox' to see if anyone else had similar problems!

It's mainly the images that are messed up for example, the quote/report - image icons next to forums etc

Wouldn't know how to attempt to explain so took some screenshots.

This is what i see on the main index page of the forums

When i click on one of the forums i get this

When i open one of the topics i see this

When i attempt to make a post i get this


Having to use IE to view these forums now which is a nuisance - don't seem to have the same problem anywhere else :-/

Anyone had this before or know how to fix it?

Cheers!
hmm, doesn't look like any images are loading. i'm not sure what would do that, do you have an extension that might be blocking them?

anyone here know if this could be a cache issue?
__________________
the rockin edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 10:49 AM   #277
Blue Crack Addict
 
nbcrusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22,071
Local Time: 03:46 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by u2granny
I make it a practice to avoid anything Microsoft releases with the word "beta" attached.
The Microsoft anti spyware program is fairly highly regarded. I believe it is still in beta stage.
__________________
nbcrusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 08:37 PM   #278
Blue Crack Addict
 
u2granny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pious Aires, WA
Posts: 15,191
Local Time: 04:46 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by the rockin edge


hmm, doesn't look like any images are loading. i'm not sure what would do that, do you have an extension that might be blocking them?

anyone here know if this could be a cache issue?
I had that problem with the 1.0.7 version. It's okay now. Of course I have now cursed myself.
__________________
u2granny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2006, 11:09 PM   #279
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 03:46 AM
You could try this thread too

http://forum.interference.com/t89568.html
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 11:14 AM   #280
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 03:46 AM
Does anyone know the extension to use to make a 'copy' of a tab (same web page) in a new tab?
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 11:22 AM   #281
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: at pavel's
Posts: 11,603
Local Time: 12:46 PM
You don't need an extension. Just make sure that you're in the address bar, and then hit Alt+Enter.
__________________
U2Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 11:42 AM   #282
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 03:46 AM
Thank you ..
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 05:03 PM   #283
Refugee
 
jesseu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 1,984
Local Time: 07:46 AM
Firefix 1.5... i've been using it since my current roommate reccomended it.. it ROCKS.

Here's screenshots of my extensions and search engines...

search


extensions


i configured my firefox to compose a new gmail message by doing Tools > New Message or by clicking a button on my toolbar, its just lovely. As many other things are great about firefox too, especially the search an extensions i use
__________________
jesseu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2006, 05:15 PM   #284
Refugee
 
jesseu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 1,984
Local Time: 07:46 AM
Sicy, you might want this extension:

eWebMail Color and Graphics - Firefox Extension

eWebMail Color and Graphics 2.5, by Harry Patsis, released on December 07, 2005

Quick Description

Enables Color and Graphics for Yahoo! Mail, Hotmail and MyWay composition in Firefox.

https://addons.mozilla.org/extension...cation=firefox
__________________
jesseu2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 01:47 PM   #285
The Fly
 
The Maestro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 179
Local Time: 12:46 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by u2granny


I had that problem with the 1.0.7 version. It's okay now. Of course I have now cursed myself.
I'm on the latest version of Firefox and also tried uninstalling and reinstalling a couple of times.

I was hoping it'd be fixed when i upgraded to latest version but same problem...

Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
You could try this thread too

http://forum.interference.com/t89568.html
Thanks, read through all that and didn't see anything that helped though.. i don't have Norton, just windows standard firewall that comes with XP...tried looking through the settings there but couldn't see any options to block or allow sites... :-/
__________________

__________________
The Maestro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com