Pixelated Monitor? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 01:15 PM   #1
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
Pixelated Monitor?

Ok I sent some pictures to my dad.. (perfect high quality) and when he saved them this is what they look like

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...icklaugh4p.jpg

and even when I was over the other day surfing the net, some of the pictures online even looked like that. I checked the monitor settings but I didnt see anything weird. It seems to have started happening since they bought a new computer (e-machine - PC)

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:25 PM   #2
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 08:47 PM
Re: Pixelated Monitor?

Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
(e-machine - PC)
There's the problem!

My dad had an e-machine and it was one of the worst computers I've ever used.
Don't know what to say about the pixelated font. :/
__________________

__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:39 PM   #3
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
Shit. So I guess its not the monitor?

The older pics on the computer that we moved over from the last computer are fine.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:54 PM   #4
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
Hmm I'm wondering if it has something to do with just pics from the internet/browser because I downloaded some pics on their comp for my mom from her camera of my cousins wedding and those came out fine. The pics I sent my Dad via email were fine but when he saved them I think he's saving them from the browser. They're using IE maybe I'll DL Firefox and see if that makes a difference. No wonder the comp was so cheap.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 01:56 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
U2vertigofly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: dinkin' flicka
Posts: 10,792
Local Time: 08:47 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy

The older pics on the computer that we moved over from the last computer are fine.
well was a different (worse) camera used to take the new ones? that could be it or a different brand of memory card
__________________
U2vertigofly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 02:35 PM   #6
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
Nope, same cameras are being used.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 03:13 PM   #7
Halloweenhead
Forum Moderator
 
Bonochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Cherry Lane
Posts: 40,816
Local Time: 08:47 PM
Re: Pixelated Monitor?

Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
when he saved them
Could there be some sort of setting that changes the size of the file (which can affect the quality) that automatically applies to any pics that he saves? That is totally a shot in the dark, as I've never heard of such a problem.
__________________
"Knight in shining Zubaz."

Bonochick [at] interference.com
Bonochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 03:53 PM   #8
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
I dont think that's it because the pictures actually LOOK that way on the browser before they're saved Even on various websites...
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 03:59 PM   #9
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Canadiens1131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,363
Local Time: 08:47 PM
Despite the crappyness of the inherent computer system, that should have absolutley NO effect on the JPEG or GIF image files or whatever you're sending him.

Never heard of this problem before. The only thing I can think of is that they pictures might be automatically compressed and their quality boondoggled when going through the email tubes.

Try to zip up some pictures in a zip file, attach that to an email, and explain to him how to unzip them at the other end. Those should be high-qual fo sho.
__________________
Canadiens1131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 04:11 PM   #10
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
But the pictures are like that in the browser when you look at them, even when you're simply surfing the net That's the really weird part.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2006, 04:22 PM   #11
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
ntalwar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,900
Local Time: 07:47 PM
Trying to save that jpeg file wants to save it as a bmp file .
Maybe photobucket is compressing it. You might need to clean out the IE temp files.
__________________
ntalwar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 09:38 AM   #12
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:47 PM
If they look that way while he's browsing the 'net, is the ISP set to compress images? I've seen this before when people use something like NetZero "high speed" which is just your same ol' dial-up, but it compresses images so it loads "faster".
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 02:30 PM   #13
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 04:47 PM
It's Netzero Anything I can do about that?
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 03:06 PM   #14
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Cleasai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 32° N 117° W
Posts: 3,773
Local Time: 05:47 PM
Yup, that's definately a compression issue. I had the same effect going back when I had Dial-up AOL. I know on AOL they used to have an option whether you want images to compress or not. I haven't even seen NetZero in person so I have no idea. Have you tried calling tech support?
__________________
Cleasai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 04:04 PM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 07:47 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
It's Netzero Anything I can do about that?
NetZero and an eMachine? ouch!

Switch to PeoplePC?
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com