Wireless Connections - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2007, 10:40 PM   #1
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
Wireless Connections

I use a wireless laptop and all of a sudden I lost all network connections. I am plugged into my router right now and I haven't been able to get anything for 2 days. The other laptop in my house works no problem, not mine. Even the WEP code doesn't work and says something about my computer configuration I am going insane any help would be much appreciated
__________________

__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 12:36 AM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:40 AM
If other computers work fine on the network, I'd reinstall the wireless device on the non-working laptop for starters. Use the driver disc it came with or download the driver from the manufacturer's website. If you have a PC you go into Control Panel > System > Device Manager > right click on the card and "uninstall" it. Then, restart and reinstall the drivers.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:09 AM   #3
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
Thanks! I'm going to try that!
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:32 AM   #4
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
I tried to run the program and it says a newer version is already installed and has to be removed before running??
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 05:10 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:31 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:40 AM
All you really need is a driver. In my experience, any programs or software that come with wireless cards just get in the way. I just install the device itself via the driver and use the Windows settings (Control Panel > Network > Wireless Connection) to configure a connection.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:29 AM   #7
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
I don't see the wireless network setting???
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:32 AM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
My diagnostics also says there is a wireless hardware switch turned off
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:45 PM   #9
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:40 AM
Check any external switches or the Fn command that toggles it on/off.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 01:48 PM   #10
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
Fn command? How do I do that?
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:41 PM   #11
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:40 AM
On your F- keys there's usually one for wireless. It's different for each brand/model of computer though. Some laptops also have a hardware switch. Mine is on the front of my computer on the left and it's a little slider.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:58 PM   #12
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
do you mean the wireless lan switch? That's on..

I wish you could come over lol
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 03:26 PM   #13
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:40 AM
What brand is the laptop?
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 05:08 PM   #14
ONE
love, blood, life
 
one4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bono's Sleeves
Posts: 12,540
Local Time: 05:40 AM
Sony Vaio
__________________
one4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:26 AM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 05:40 AM
Sometimes, it says it's switched off, but really it's the service not running.

Go to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services

Scroll down and find Windows Zero Configuration. It should be started/running. If not, right click on it and select Start. Then, right click on it again, go to Properties, and make sure it's set to Automatic so that it starts on its own.
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com