Laptop Adapter Issues? - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 08:37 PM   #1
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
crys Laptop Adapter Issues?

A few months ago, my adapter started having issues while plugged in. It would only charge if the cord was pulled a certain way. I noticed that it started to get worse this year in that I had to spend more time adjusting the cord. It was also having a harder time staying hooked into its little hole.
I have no idea what happened yesterday but this morning the male end refused to stay put inside the hole. It comes out easily and doesn't even click. I can charge it, but only if I spend 5 minutes moving the thing around until I find the exact spot. Aaand then I can't move at all, so there's no point in even doing it.

Is this a laptop issue or the actual adapter itself?
I found one online that I can buy for $32, but I just want another opinion before I go and blow my money on something that might not even be necessary.
(Of course the alternative is that my laptop is in need of serious repair!)

I have a Sony VAIO VGN - FS810/W
The adapter is: VGP-AC19V11 AC Power Adapter 19.5V 4.7A
__________________

__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 07:38 AM   #2
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 02:34 PM
if you have to pull the cord in order to make the adapter work it sounds clearly like there's a malfunction in the cord. Seems like the wires can't connect to the plug or something like that.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:42 AM   #3
Blue Crack Addict
 
onebloodonelife's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 15,106
Local Time: 08:34 AM
Well, I'd go ahead and buy the adapter and hope that's it. But, it could also be the actual AC port on the laptop as well. My guess would be the adapter first though, since you've been having issues with it for awhile now.
__________________
onebloodonelife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:07 PM   #4
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:34 AM
I would take the laptop to the store. Tell them you are considering buying a new adapter, but need to quickly check and make sure that's the problem. Make it clear you are NOT interesting in leaving the laptop for their "professional" diagnosis, just ask if you can find your laptop on display and quick plug in their adapter. If the charge light goes on, buy a new adapter. If it doesn't, then you need the connection on the motherboard repaired. That usually involves some re-soldering, but is pretty easily fixable. Unless your cord is obviously damaged with wires exposed, there's no way to know for sure whether it's the adapter or the connection on the motherboard. In my experience, it's usually the motherboard, not the adapter. You'll know within 2 seconds if you can plug in an adapter that you already know works.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:57 PM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
I should, but my laptop model is well over two years old and they most likely won't have a store model on display. I went ahead and ordered a new adapter. I can always return it or sell it off if it doesn't work.
I have a friend who does internal laptop repair so I'll definitely ask him to look at it if the adapter doesn't work. For right now, I've ghettoly (hah, new word) scotch taped my adapter in. If I move it around to just the right spot it stays in place and charges.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 10:10 PM   #6
Blue Crack Addict
 
anitram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 16,286
Local Time: 08:34 AM
You don't need the same adapter, you only need to have the same amps/voltage and it will work. Usually it's no problem to find another laptop whose adapter will work on your computer.

And stores generally carry universal adapters which are quite pricey (over $100), but I've heard mixed reviews of those.
__________________
anitram is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:32 PM   #7
Blue Crack Addict
 
zuropa_fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: burning up on re-entry
Posts: 24,953
Local Time: 06:34 AM
Same thing has happened to me and I've been too lazy to take it in, also for fear of the $$$$ it will cost to have them look at it. Thanks for the suggestion of just asking to 'borrow' their adapter to check.
__________________
zuropa_fit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 09:42 AM   #8
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
I got a new exact replacement for only $33 on eBay.

I know this isn't for adapters, but my friend recommended pricewatch.com for any other computer needs. I found a battery (which of course now needs to be put on hold) for about $10 less than the best price I found by myself.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 05:47 PM   #9
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
I shouldn't have jumped the gun. It wasn't an adapter issue.

How easy is it to re-solder? My dad says that he can probably fix it (he's an engineer). This means I have to order the DC part, right?
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 06:24 PM   #10
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:34 AM
If he thinks he probably can, he probably can. I've never done it because I think it voids the warranty if I do it because I do not work for Dell, HP, etc, but I've seen many tutorials for it online.
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:30 PM   #11
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
Well, I felt like an idiot for starting another thread with a different problem, so I'll just put it here.
I think my laptop is about to take a nosedive. Word, Firefox and Internet Explorer stopped working for me today. They'll work for about 5 or 6 minutes before totally freezing up for 10 minutes. Then they start to work again.

It's not a virus because I managed to scan the entire system today with AVG and Ad-Aware, just for good measure.

The really weird part is that it has nothing to do with internet access. I've been running AIM the whole time with no problems or anything. It's just that some programs are crapping out on me.
Any ideas?
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:58 PM   #12
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
Hrrm, it seems to have stopped for now. I guess it was just a hiccup in the system. Still scary!

*I take it back, it just happened again.
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:17 PM   #13
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 08:34 AM
Hard drive going bad?
__________________
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:21 PM   #14
Rock n' Roll Doggie
Band-aid
 
Tiger Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Everglades
Posts: 4,740
Local Time: 09:34 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Liesje
Hard drive going bad?


I don't know. WordPad works fine though.

I think I'm going to fix the DC jack, sell the laptop and get a new one. I can't believe it's going through such a downfall so fast.

Should I attempt a system restore to last Friday?
__________________
Tiger Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 11:23 AM   #15
Blue Crack Addict
 
anitram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: NY
Posts: 16,286
Local Time: 08:34 AM
I had a Sony VAIO once.

I owned it for 3 weeks before it crapped out (screen died).

I got my $ back and never looked back again. Sony is overpriced, their laptops are apparently a bitch to fix so many places will just tell you to send it to an authorized repair shop and then who knows when you'll get it back.
__________________

__________________
anitram is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com