Installing Windows XP on a Mac? Halp. :( - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Restart and Reboot Yourself
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2009, 06:31 PM   #1
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 08:24 PM
Installing Windows XP on a Mac? Halp. :(

I want to install XP on a 5gb partition on my Mac, but it says I need service pack 2, and the disk is SP1, so is it still ok to install and just update afterwards or should I not attempt it?

If theres even the SLIGHTEST risk of stuff buggering up, I dont want to take the chance.
__________________

__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 06:34 AM   #2
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 08:24 PM
Perhaps it's in the bootcamp manual, but I'm not sure. I installed our old XP disk on the bootcamp partition, had to do a SHITLOAD of updates later, but it works fine.

I don't think it'll mess stuff up.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 08:05 AM   #3
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 08:24 PM
Best I can find on the apple support forums is "you shouldnt do it just incase" type of thing, not that it wont work outright.

:C

(kinda shit that it wants me to PRINT out the bootcamp manual too, 25 pages? piss off. )

What sorta mac did you install yours on?
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 08:08 AM   #4
Galeonbroad
 
Galeongirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Schoo Fishtank
Posts: 70,773
Local Time: 08:24 PM
On the new Macbook.

Perhaps this can help? Just found it on google. Apparently you can make a new installation disk with the SP1 disk and the SP2 files(those are downloadable).
InsanelyMac Forum > Windows XP SP1 On Mac?

This guy gives a pretty clear explanation
Quote:
Jul 10, 2006, 11:38 AM
the reason why bootcamp requires sp2 is because the bootcamp drivers work only for sp2, not sp1. Therefore, yes SP1 does work. You can boot into windows with it, but you would be missing graphics drivers, internet, sound, bluetooth.. etc... with no way of updating them.

If you only own the SP1 CD, do what everyone suggested and google slipstream. It allows you to put SP2 onto your SP1 CD.
So better not use SP1, rather make the slipstream disc.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraceRyan View Post
And if U2 EVER did Hawkmoon live....and the version from the Lovetown Tour, my uterus would leave my body and fling itself at Bono - for realz.
Don't worry baby, it's gonna be all right. Uncertainty can be a guiding light...
Galeongirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2009, 05:07 PM   #5
New Yorker
 
MooMoo!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MUTANT SPIDER THING. D=<
Posts: 3,090
Local Time: 08:24 PM
Followed the slipstream instructions, and it worked! Took blinkin ages, but worked none the less.

Thanks GG.
__________________
MooMoo! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com