My digital camera woes - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2005, 11:22 AM   #1
New Yorker
 
wenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,644
Local Time: 03:39 AM
My digital camera woes

About a month ago, I dropped my digital camera and now the battery door is all messed up. It closes but the part it latches onto snapped off so it doesn't close all the way.

Now I have to find a place that can fix it before the end of January so I can go on vacation with it.

I have a feeling I'll have to get a new one because fixing it will cost more.

Poo
__________________

__________________
wenda is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 01:35 PM   #2
Blue Crack Addict
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the dog house
Posts: 19,557
Local Time: 02:39 AM
It is under warranty?

Can you just tape the door shut?
__________________

__________________
Liesje is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 01:39 PM   #3
Blue Crack Overdose
Get me off the internetz!
 
Carek1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wishing I was somewhere else....
Posts: 114,531
Local Time: 11:39 PM
I'd tape the door. I don't think the camera is a loss, especially if it works ok after dropping it.
__________________
Carek1230 is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 01:59 PM   #4
New Yorker
 
wenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,644
Local Time: 03:39 AM
Yeah, if worse comes to worse I'll tape it and take it with me. I just hate when my stuff breaks since I'm usually so careful with stuff like that.

Ah well. I'll have to check tonight on the warranty situation.
__________________
wenda is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:28 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
Mr. BAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Life's too short to drink cheap wine!
Posts: 12,336
Local Time: 12:39 AM
Misuse or carelessness will nullify your warranty...sorry. tape it.
__________________
Mr. BAW is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 10:36 PM   #6
Blue Crack Supplier
 
Zoots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: the great beyond
Posts: 36,802
Local Time: 09:39 AM
That sucks.

Tape it.

with clear tape of course.
__________________
Zoots is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:10 PM   #7
New Yorker
 
wenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,644
Local Time: 03:39 AM
I believe the general consensus is taping it, lol. Damn me and my slippery fingers!
__________________
wenda is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:53 PM   #8
ONE
love, blood, life
 
david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: southern california
Posts: 10,150
Local Time: 11:39 PM
i had this happen to a digital camera before. taping it never worked, i actually found just using a rubber band wrapped around the camera worked great.
__________________
david is offline  
Old 10-31-2005, 11:55 PM   #9
New Yorker
 
wenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,644
Local Time: 03:39 AM
I was thinking that too. I'll have to try it all out and see what works.
__________________
wenda is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 02:43 PM   #10
Refugee
 
cydewaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,256
Local Time: 03:39 AM
Rubber band might be better than taping, especially when you have to swap batteries and don't have any extra tape handy.
__________________
cydewaze is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:23 PM   #11
Blue Crack Overdose
Get me off the internetz!
 
Carek1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: wishing I was somewhere else....
Posts: 114,531
Local Time: 11:39 PM
I am driving myself insane looking for two Memory cards in their plastic cases at home for my digital camera.....I had them Sat. night and set them down, went out that night, came back and for the life of me I cannot remember where I put them. Atleast I've got my 1GB card IN the camera.....so that's about 800 guaranteed pics for Vegas weekend. Whew. I hate when things like this happen!
__________________
Carek1230 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 04:31 PM   #12
Refugee
 
cydewaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,256
Local Time: 03:39 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Carek1230
Atleast I've got my 1GB card IN the camera.....so that's about 800 guaranteed pics for Vegas weekend. Whew. I hate when things like this happen!
If you ever need to get more pics (like on a smaller mem card) you can always bump the resolution down a bit. 800x600 (or even 640x480) make great web-sized prints, and unless you plan to print them out at 8x10, they're usually all you need.
__________________

__________________
cydewaze is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com