computer network connection question...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liesje

Blue Crack Addict
This is kinda ironic since I'm a computer tech, but I really only do software, hardware, and printers, not much with networking so here's a question that hopefully has a simple answer:

At my house we have SBC DSL. I've got a 4-port hub/router and 8-port hub. I'm connected into the 4-port hub/router (one of the other four is the uplink to the 8-port hub upstairs). This wasn't a problem until I sold my nice desktop and have been using my grandpa's old one until I get a new laptop. When I boot up the computer in the morning, it takes up to 15 minutes to establish a network connection. Sometimes I just do a release/renew and it works the first time and I'm good to go. other times the repair fails and I have to do it 3 or 4 times before I can get online. Or, I can just walk away, come back 15 minutes later and my AIM has signed on and it's all set. No one else has this problem. I've tried a different port on the router. Any ideas? I've never had to do this before. As I said, I don't really do anything with networking so I'm not sure if it's the NIC itself, the network properties (TCP/IP is set to obtain IP and DNS automatically), the computer's not quite legit OS, or something with the router.

When you say 15 minutes do you mean it hangs for 15 minutes and you can't do anything on that computer like typing ?

Give this a shot firstand see if it works, this will reset your tcp/ip stack,

go to the command line and type this and hit enter (this will only work on XP)

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

Restart your computer and see if that works.