Clueless in Castro Valley - HOW TO POST PICTURES - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > ZOOTV > Inside Broadcast
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2003, 01:01 AM   #1
Refugee
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Posts: 997
Local Time: 08:00 AM
Clueless in Castro Valley

oh, the places we will go! If anyone, or any geek, can please, PLEASE, tell me how to post pictures...i am planning to get a scanner, but if there is even a slight, tiny, minute chance that there is another way, i would truelly appreciate that!

now, if I can just find that "hug" smiley, is it hidden somewhere in Elvis's den, or back parlour....
__________________

__________________
DebbieSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 01:13 AM   #2
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:00 AM
If you want to post a picture from your hard drive, when you go to reply there is a section underneath the reply box that says "browse". click that then find the picture on your hard drive and attach it. Make sure the file size is under 100kb.

If you want to post a picture from the web, right click on the picture, click properties, find the URL and highlight and copy it. Paste it in your reply with [img] on one side and [ /img] on the other.
__________________

__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 01:13 AM   #3
Refugee
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Posts: 997
Local Time: 08:00 AM
oh, ok, this new forum will be much better...
__________________
DebbieSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 01:16 AM   #4
Refugee
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Castro Valley, CA
Posts: 997
Local Time: 08:00 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
If you want to post a picture from your hard drive, when you go to reply there is a section underneath the reply box that says "browse". click that then find the picture on your hard drive and attach it. Make sure the file size is under 100kb.

If you want to post a picture from the web, right click on the picture, click properties, find the URL and highlight and copy it. Paste it in your reply with [img] on one side and [ /img] on the other.
Can someone translate this into Queens English?

Thanks, thanks so very, very, from the bottom of my little misguided heart, thank you for clear directions...
__________________
DebbieSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 01:17 AM   #5
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:00 AM
Um I thought that was pretty clear. Sorry.

Did you read BOTH of my pm's? I see you read one.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 09:56 PM   #6
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
sue4u2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hatching some plot, scheming some scheme
Posts: 6,628
Local Time: 03:00 AM
Test
Attached Thumbnails
the band.jpg  
__________________
sue4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 10:11 PM   #7
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:00 AM
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2003, 11:38 AM   #8
Blue Crack Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 17,927
Local Time: 03:00 AM

You might want to use a photo-hosting service to post pics that aren't attachments. We've had a lot of trouble with some of them, but right now www.snapfish.com and www.boomspeed.com are working for us. Snapfish will delete your pics if you go a year withouth buying from them. Boomspeed doesn't shrink pics like snapfish does and has easier addys. The addy is what you need to post here. Once you have an account set up you can upload pics from your hard drive to the website, and it will give each one of your pics and addy that will post here with the [img]

and [/img] *

tags. Warning about boomspeed, they have purges checking for misuse (like posting on message boards ) sometimes so make sure you don't go over your quota or stay over it or they'll catch you. They shut me down twice, then finally I went ahead and took their offer to subcribe and get a 100MEG account and permission to link to message boards. It was worth it to me since I have so many pics and love to post. If you only want to post a few, use the free account but don't overdo it.

To post from there or any website (Geocities, tripod and angelfire don't allow linking, don't bother, it won't show up) click on the pic, then click 'properties', then when the box comes up highlight the addy and post it with the tags.

If you need any more help just post again!

* had to put the tags like that to keep them from showing up as a red x.
__________________
U2Kitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 05:31 PM   #9
War Child
 
irelandwhispers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 636
Local Time: 02:00 AM
I have been reading some of the threads regarding posting pictures, because I was trying to get one in my sig. I uploaded mine to HP Photo instead of snapfish or boomspeed, and it seems to be working just fine.

It only showed up as a red X for me once so far, and I think it was just my computer settings causing problems (perhaps Norton is the culprit in my case?), not HP Photo.

Just thought I'd throw in my two cents in case snapfish and boomspeed start causing more problems for people.
__________________
irelandwhispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 06:17 PM   #10
Rock n' Roll Doggie
FOB
 
daisybean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Born under a bad sign with a blue moon in your eyes
Posts: 8,577
Local Time: 03:00 AM
I just see a red x

I tried hp photo and it will show up for a short time, then it will turn into a red x. I think after a while the url expires... Nikkon.com does the same thing too.
__________________
"....But all I ever hear from you is "
daisybean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 09:19 PM   #11
War Child
 
irelandwhispers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 636
Local Time: 02:00 AM
ARGH. I guess sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I checked out snapfish and I really didn't like it. I can't remember if I looked at boomspeed or not...guess I'll do some more searching for something that works when I have the time...Ay carumba...there has GOT to be a better way! I have ten million different projects I am working on right now, so I might not be able to fix things for a while. I HATE COLLEGE!
__________________
irelandwhispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 12:08 AM   #12
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:00 AM
Why dont you like snapfish?

I it. I have over 1000 pictures in my account.
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 01:23 AM   #13
War Child
 
irelandwhispers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 636
Local Time: 02:00 AM
Quote:
Originally posted by Sicy
Why dont you like snapfish?

I it. I have over 1000 pictures in my account.
Snapfish said you have to order prints or send in film every once in a while or something. I don't ever have any film to send in, therefore if I started an account it would be terminated eventually. I just found a new image hosting service to try; let's see how long this one works for my sig pic. I didn't realize that URLs could expire. I am a newbie to the Net, but learning very quickly. Even though they cause more problems than anything I've ever known, computers rock! Oops, I think I just revealed how much of a geek I am.
__________________
irelandwhispers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 01:46 AM   #14
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,297
Local Time: 12:00 AM
You only have to purchase something once a year to keep the account active. I just buy a print or something for $1
__________________
Sicy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 06:28 AM   #15
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Cleasai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: 32° N 117° W
Posts: 3,773
Local Time: 01:00 AM
I was just wondering. Could anyone else actually buy prints, or whatever from your account? Say for example I wanted to buy a picture of someone for my photo album or whatever... could I concievably do that?
__________________

__________________
Cleasai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com