Weird things happening with my computer - help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VintagePunk

Blue Crack Distributor
A couple of months ago, I picked up a low end laptop, an Acer with a 1.86 GHz processor and 1 gig RAM, running Vista Home Basic. Got it on sale really cheap, and figured that even if it lasts me a year or so, I'll be happy. For the most part, it's exceeded my expectations regarding speed and such.

For about a month now, I've had a series of weird things happening. I'm no computer expert by any means, but I I know my way around the basic stuff and can usually do okay troubleshooting by googling problems. This, I don't even know where to begin to look.

The first thing that started happening is, a few days after a Windows update, my touchpad started freezing. The only thing I could do is Ctr-Alt-Del, and then restart the computer by tabbing. Upon restart, it would work fine. (not sure if this is related at all, but the very first time this happened, I attempted to go back to the previous restore, before the windows update, and I couldn't, I got an error.) This happened maybe every 5 - 7 days. Then, a new wrinkle was added to the mix: the computer would restart fine, but when I reopened Firefox and clicked on Restore Session, the tabs that I had opened previously would take forever to reload, maybe 20 or 30 minutes to reload 5 web pages. During this time, MSN worked fine, but any new webpages I opened would also take forever. Also, while this was happening, everything showed that my wireless internet was connected fine. I quickly learned that in order to get the internet to open web pages in a normal manner, the only thing I could do is wait it out, wait for all the pages that were up to reload. Once this was done, I had to reboot the computer again via the start menu, and then the webpages would load at a normal, fast pace.