Laptop - I'm running out out of storage

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

snowbunny00774

ONE love, blood, life
Again - you won't have to try to hard but imagine you are talking to a neanderthal - please explain in detail if you can help :)

My laptop is running out of room. Mostly because of music I have on here. What is the best way to store it. I bought one of those little usb stick things, but haven't used it yet. If I put music on there is it easily retrievable? If I want to have it available for people to torrent from can they do that if I leave it plugged in? that's the main reason I haven't taken anything off my hard drive yet. I'm really new to this stuff and have no idea what I'm doing.

Also - I have itunes on my desktop, with a lot of music on there too - should I put itunes on my laptop too? Can I share between the two - i.e. access my itunes stuff from either computer?

Should I buy one of those external hard drive things?

I'm completely lost about what to do now and the space thing is getting to be a huge problem...

1) yes, you should buy an external hard drive. Sarah got a 500 gig one less than a year ago for around $100 at future shop. I think they're even cheaper now. USB sticks have a much smaller capacity than externals, but they are handy for transferring smaller amounts of files.

2) you can share files between computers if you have a router and set up a network between them. I'm guessing you have this already? Your laptop is wireless?

3) I've never used iTunes. I have an non iPod mp3 player, which I simply use the drag and drop method with, and on both my computers I use either WMP or Winamp. I tried to open iTunes once on my old desktop, and it was frightfully slow, and full of crap I don't need, so I ditched it.

there's got to be other stuff that's taking up all the space besides music.