US Politics XVI: Where the record player stays on all night

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.
So Pompeo is not letting any state dept. officials testify.

What are the options that Dems have to punish/fine/compel them to testify?

The time of no consequences has to end. Just not sure of what they can do.

I’m no lawyer but I’m fairly certain a congressional subpoena of a witness is not something the White House can block without threats of prosecution.

I’m no lawyer but I’m fairly certain a congressional subpoena of a witness is not something the White House can block without threats of prosecution.

They can refuse to comply but then that has to go through the courts, which can be a long and drawn out process. Eventually they'll be compelled, the issue is when. I believe that this would move faster through the process than a general subpoena due to the fact that it's in relation to an impeachment hearing but still not exactly lightning fast.

I do know that they are including the warning in the subpoena that if it isn't complied with, that it will be evidence of a separate article of impeachment for obstruction.

Which some are speculating as to why they sent these to the State Dept. first. Expecting them to be blocked and being able to use it as obstruction.
This makes some sense because they do, in effect have all the evidence they need for impeachment.
If they get a few more witnesses and the whistleblower themselves to testify. That's all they need.

And let's be honest. More will come out almost every day as we go through this. Yesterday brought like 4 new things in itself.

Give him a break - he's just an honest principled conservative with strong Christian values in a decadent libtard world