medications for depression?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

404 Not Found

The Fly
i'm no expert either. however, from what i do know, there are psychologists/psychiatrists (forget which ones can prescribe medication) that are more apt to prescribe right off the bat. i think that in some cases, depression stems from a chemical imbalance in the brain, and in those cases medication can help restore the balance. i don't know that this is the case with the girl you mentioned though.
i agree that cases should be treated individually and that medication is not a miracle cure.

There are lots of different medications, depending on the brain chemical she may be lacking. A psychiatrist would be best equipped for something like that.

Melon

------------------
"Still, I never understood the elevation of greed as a political credo. Why would anyone want to base a political programme on bottomless dissatisfaction and the impossibility of happiness? Perhaps that was its appeal: the promise of luxury that in fact promoted endless work." - Hanif Kureishi, Intimacy

Medications for depression are, in most cases, designed for short-term use. If someone is severely depressed then they are unlikely to be able to benefit from counselling or therapy because of their depression. Therefore if they take an anti-depressant medication their depression should be alleviated enough to let them participate in counselling and so deal with the problems which are causing their depression in the first place.