Israel bombings

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lilly

Rock n' Roll Doggie FOB
Did anybody see what has been happening in Israel lately? I'm pretty unfamiliar with what has gone on over there and what is going on as far as how the countries relate to each other. Could someone explain to me some of the fundamental details please? Thank you.

------------------
Go lightly down your darkened way.

Basically...

Both the Palestinians and the Jews think that the land belong to them.

Palestinians are pissed because there is a Jewish state on "their land."

They have been fighting over it ever since Israel was created after WWII.

I'm sure there are others who would like to add more.

------------------
The numeral 7

[This message has been edited by Se7en (edited 12-01-2001).]

i'm no expert, someone will need to clarify. here's what i understand:

following WWII, many european jews felt displaced in their native countries. they wanted a place to belong. naturally, many started immigrating back to the homeland of judaism, jerusalem. at the time jerusalem was a city (maybe the capital?) of palestine, a muslim country. slowly, the jews began moving into palestine and re-claiming their heritage. naturally, this pissed off the muslims living there who felt it was both an invasion of their homeland and an anti-islamic movement. the muslims and the jews began fighting. in an effort to settle the situation (because the world was obviously very sick of war) the world powers created Israel as a new country, with jerusalem as it's capital. Israel was now what had once been Palestine, and it was a jewish country. many former palestinians left Israel for other muslim nations. many settled in refugee camps along the gaza strip.

basically, the muslims and the jews both want the area that is presently called Isreal.