Could the Christians on here please explain this to me?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mrs. Edge

Bono's Belly Dancing Friend
I have a question about the Christian religion. It?s about a particular thing that bothers me so profoundly that I am losing sleep over it at night. As this forum is positively crammed with Christians, this is the place to go to find the answers! Surely SOMEBODY here can explain this to a newbie like me and make me feel better. And please don?t take offence to this question, it is something I genuinely can?t wrap my head around, and I want to understand this with an open mind.

As some of you know, I have no religious background at all, and am at the moment pondering my spiritual path. A very good friend is providing me with all kinds of information and is very concerned about my eternal soul. Unfortunately, this is one of those mysterious questions that she is having trouble answering to my satisfaction.

One thing that she and every other Christian friend I have says to me, is that if all of your sins on this earth will be forgiven ? as long as you believe in Jesus, and that all sin equal in God?s view, from a small white lie to murder and rape. Well for starters I have a problem swallowing that. If all sin is the same, then you might as well REALLY sin a lot and get the most bang for your buck. But that isn?t even the question!