Christianity is very confusing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mrs. Edge

Bono's Belly Dancing Friend
Just for fun, I thought I'd post something in here and see how people would react.

Some of the people in here know me as someone who was raised in a TOTALLY 100% non religious household. My mom was an Anglican and then became an Atheist. My dad is a Theosophist turned Materialist. My sister is a WICCAN. My brother is a Unitarian, mostly because he thinks his kids should have some spiritual training.

I never went to Sunday School and have never read the Bible (well, I keep starting and then leaving it off after Noah's Ark!).

When I was about 12, I had a Born Again Christian guitar teacher. I was a budding young scientist. This teacher had the nerve to tell me that cavemen did not exist, nor had dinosaurs. We spent more time arguing about the dinosaurs than working on guitar! This, combined with his kindly, but superior and holier than thou attitude, really didn't advertise Christianity well to me.

My sister says that Christians complain about witchcraft being bloodthirsty, yet the main symbol of Christianity is a) Christ being crucified and b) the consumption of his flesh and blood! WICCANS eat honey cakes! My sister has also studied the religions of the world and I've heard enough dreadful stuff about Christian behaviour through the ages to turn me off completely.

BUT....I still feel like I really want to believe something, if only for peace of mind and so I don't have to keep wondering about this.