A Message To Everyone, But Especially Young People

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

namkcuR

ONE love, blood, life
You need to vote. I am 20, and I am a college student. I would like to re-enforce to everyone, but especially young people: You need to vote. You need to know what's going on in the world and you need to use your vote every four years.

This is about more than just having the right to vote and using it, although that is MASSIVELY important. It's about the fact that everybody needs to be familiar with the world they're living in. I cringe when people say things like 'I don't like either but candidate A seems friendlier(or insert other superficial adjective here) so I'll vote for him'. That indicates that the person either doesn't know the issues or doesn't care about the issues. If it's the latter, go get somebody to beat you up. If it's the first, you're not alone. All too often I see people my age who just do not know enough about what's going on in the world. I really do not want to be part of a generation that gets remembered for its idiocy and/or ignorance.

Even if you're in your teens and not yet old enough to vote in THIS election, pay attention to it, pay attention to world issues, keep up with the news for the next four years, so in 2008 you can make an INFORMED decision and VOTE.

And if you're of age, VOTE VOTE VOTE VOTE VOTE COME NOVEMBER 2ND!!

Last edited:
PS-i just got back from a democrat club meeting at school where we made posters and put them all over the school. people are already trying to tear them down (one guy started to rip a poster off RIGHT IN FRONT OF US!!!! idiot.) on november 1 i'm trying to organize a kerry rally at my school. i think alot of people will be voting.

Well, if you aren't informed about who to vote for, there's no shame in not voting.