IO: I'm Working at Yosemite

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fmattyh

Acrobat
I know I've never posted on this board before... and heck, I'm new to Interference in general... but I just checked out this IO board for the first time and everyone here seems so great.

So I just wanted to announce what I just found out this week and why I'm incredibly excited:

I just got an internship at Yosemite National Park for this summer!

So I'm currently in my junior year of college, going for a B.A. in Business and B.S. in Geology, and I'm really interested in working for the National Park Service as a career, whether as a ranger or in resource management or whatever. These past couple months, I've been calling up national parks across the country, trying to get a job or internship in order to see if I really do like the NPS lifestyle and whether I really want to go into it as a career or not. And I just found out this week that I've been hired as an intern!

My job? Besides working at a visitor center in Yosemite Valley, I get to do patrols of campgrounds at night and educate campers on proper bear safety and food storage. Which is awesome to me, because any job where I can go around and just talk to new people all day is a perfect fit. Plus, time to hike and explore on the weekends = heaven.

So I just thought I'd let you know what's been on my mind this week (besides U2 tickets). Thanks everyone for reading! :)

that job sounds SO great.

i love the outdoors. hiking, swimming, canoeing...

the NPS needs people like you. :up:

Yosemite - the motherlode of National Parks!
Baw, I have to go with Yellowstone on that one, but Yosemite is in the top 5, at least. Grand Canyon, Mt. Rainier, and Glacier are right up there with Yosemite. IMO. ;)