You gonna keep defending the recent actions of U2 after reading this?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

namkcuR

ONE love, blood, life
LINK HERE

January 25, 2005
An Open Letter to U2
Dear U2,

I'd like to explain to you what kind of fan I am. I first saw you play in 1982 when I was a freshman in college. That was 22 shows ago - I've travelled across an ocean to see you play. I've bought multiple copies of all the albums, run my own website, worked for others - I've spent a lot of time on U2 because I loved the music. And I always felt that you were different - you didn't buy into all the corporate music crap and I felt that you had a unique love for your fans.

I've told people this over the years, that you were different. You made fun of people who cared about money over love. You dared to speak up when you saw injustice. You were earnest, but didn't take yourselves too seriously. You could poke fun at yourselves and the ridiculous industry you found yourselves in - all while making fantastic music. You cared about the fans - took the time to do things for them, speak to them. Run up into the crowd.

People gave me crap for that, y'know - but I sincerely believed it to be true. I've never asked anything from you, never hung outside the venue to meet you, never asked for an autograph. Just bought the music and went to the shows along the way.

In the last few years, I feel you've changed, and this was hammered home completely today.