War

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RavenBlue

Blue Crack Addict
I have to admit, even though I've been listening to U2 since about 1997.. I only recently picked up War. Since then, it has become one of my favourites. I can honestly say that there isn't one song on this album that I truely dislike. It's a masterpiece. Yes, I even enjoy Red Light.

Something that bugs me sometimes is how folks say they only like "old U2". What they consider 'old' is usually The Joshua Tree. It would be great if folks could discover the true 'old' U2, because it's well worth uncovering.

I agree. War is an amazing album. I also agree when you say that every track is good. And I also like Red Light..lol. Songs like The Refugee isn't their usual style and it is really good, and it has become one of my favourite U2 songs. If it wasn't for War, Red Rocks wouldn't be the same.

:yes: One of their best albums. The first time where IMO all the key ingredients to U2 really come alive: the political, the spiritual and the atmospheric.

imo the second half of the album is weak, but the first half is absolutely fantastic. SBS, Seconds, NYD, Like a Song, Drowning Man...what an A-side. I think it's the first album that really got U2 noticed by more than just the underground college radio crowd.

War is fantastic. There's not a single weak moment on the first half, the second half isn't that bad either. The Refugee is amazingly fun to dance to/sing along to. THBAO is a rarity, because unlike the majority of U2 love songs, it's fairly unbitter. Red Light and Surrender are a little... different to listen to. I think maybe it's the fault of the background singers which make the songs feel so strange. But they're not bad songs. And of course "40" is "40" and is amazing.