There is some hope

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ImOuttaControl

Refugee
I'm a middle school teacher. Most of my students listen to music that is absolute crap--Rap or pop-punk. Basically, if it's not new and trendy(on MTV) it must not be good music according to them. My number one goal is to be a good teacher and all that encompasses. My number 2 goal is to expose my students to other forms of music. :D

I've come up with some interesting conclusions. Obviously some students won't approach a band like U2 or the Beatles with an open mind, but a lot of my students are starting to warm up to something other than Hot 100 hits. The Beatles "Come Together," "Strawberry Fields Forever," "Hey Jude" and "I Am The Walrus" are being requested in my study hall! "Can you play the song that talks about the eggman?"

As for U2, my students are really starting to warm up to Achtung Baby and Pop. They thought the Chicago DVD was really cool and it's fun to hear students singing along to Elevation when it comes on during study hall. Basically, it's really cool to know that U2 can still strike a chord with people who weren't even born when Achtung Baby came out. What's sad is that I know the majority of teenagers aren't exposed to the great music that has come before. As I always tell my students who say "The Beatles suck...or U2 sucks, they're old:" If you limit yourself only to what's new and popular, you're missing out.