Shameless Self-Promotion!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

doctorwho

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
My TARDIS - currently located in Valparaiso, IN
O.K., this is truly shameless... but I am SO happy and proud!
biggrin.gif

As some of you may know, I am a scientist. My current research is in the area of cancer diagnostics. In particular, I attempt to discover new blood serum proteins that may serve as "biomarkers" for early prostate cancer detection.

I joined my present company in May, 2000. Despite numerous staff changes in that time, this project has been successful.

I recently presented this work at a conference in Barcelona, Spain. This was only my second time to Europe and the very first time I gave an oral presentation to an international community. My company, Matritech, issued a press release, which states my name, about this presentation on October 5th. I am very happy and proud of this accomplishment - not just for my own personal career-growth, but because of the actual discovery.
biggrin.gif

I thought I would share this news with my "U2 family" as many of you have been very supportive during recent difficult times (especially since last July). I thought it would be nice to share some "happy" news today.
smile.gif

Wait a minute--you're John Hlavaty? As in the John Hlavaty? I use your statistics every time someone asks me about U2's sales. Wow, a man of many talents. Pretty cool, dude.

On a scientific note, though I'm not someone who has much affinity for biology (I'm an engineering student), I think it was an interesting article. The idea of doing cancer checks with a blood test is definitely better than the current methods used. Congratulations man!

------------------
Change is the only constant

As someone who has recently battled the big C, I say you deserve all the praise you can handle when it comes to helping find ways to fight it.