MERGED-->Bono talks new record + New Album 2003 or 2004?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
ATYCLB has wonderful guitars all over it. As does Pop, AB, hell even Zooropa has great strange guitars everywhere. Bono likes to talk alot.

New album: 2003 or 2004?

Until today, I was pretty confident that by new years eve, we'd have a new U2 album. But now, I'm not so sure. Bono said this year OR early 2004. That usually means it's gonna be pushed back. Edge said that the songs are just in the beginning. They had me convinced that they were progressing very quickly, when actually, they are at their usual pace. Which is fine, as long as it results in a great album. But honestly, I was really hoping for it this year. I mean, I'm a poor college student who can't afford to have a life, and U2 always cheers me up. I could use new U2 now, but if they need more time to get it right, so be it.

So who thinks 2003, and who thinks 2004?

MTV News Link

From MTV.com
Anyone with a copy of War or The Joshua Tree in their collection might disagree, but Bono is calling U2's next album their first guitar-driven outing.

"We're banging the dustbin lids back home in Dublin. We've got a rehearsal studio/recording studio type of deal," the Irish singer said at the Golden Globes on Sunday, where he was a presenter. He and The Edge also accepted Best Original Song for "The Hands That Built America," U2's contribution to "Gangs of New York (see " 'Chicago' Knocks 'Em Dead, Wins Three Golden Globes").

"Edge, I must say, is really doing some extraordinary stuff," Bono added. "It's a guitar record. Which is, I think, our first."

U2's last studio album, 2000's redefining All That You Can't Leave Behind, saw the band abandoning many of the eccentricities of their '90s output in favor of more bombastic songs. "Beautiful Day" and "Elevation" became nearly inescapable at radio.