High Cost of Ticket Prices

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MBH

Acrobat
I am curious to see what everyone thinks of the rising costs of ticket prices. The following excerpt is taken from an interview that was completed with Paul McCartney last week. I think that the prices are ridiculous but if people continue to pay them, then they will continue to rise. U2's prices are also very high and these prices are not even as high as some others(WHO, McCartney, CSNY, etc...) However, that doesn't make it right. Kid Rock said that he took sponsorship $ from Coors so that ticket prices could stay reasonable. As far as ticket prices go, Pearl Jam is the most admirable band out there. Enjoy the excerpt!:

No matter where the tour goes, one thing McCartney is unapologetic about is the relatively high cost of tickets for his shows, which run from $50 to $250. "This is what I do for a living," he said. "If I earn money on this tour, a lot of it will go to charity. As far as the high prices of the tickets, they're not high compared to what everyone else charges. I say to the promoters, 'What do U2 or the Rolling Stones charge?' I figure I'm somewhere in that ballpark. Tickets [for this tour] start at $50, which isn't that high. Actually, the Stones are going to charge more than us [for their 2002 tour], so there's your story."

[This message has been edited by MBH (edited 04-29-2002).]

Yes im very interested to know exactly why prices are so high. Do U2 still firmly believe in no advertising thus making the ticket prices high?
I really dont understand it.
Yes, they have to make a living and a band in U2's realm should cost more than say a band like Garbage, simply because they've earned their keep. But U2 have always been the ones who said they weren't in it for the money, and that they want to keep their ticket prices low.