HELP! How do you ... - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Your Blue Room > Everything You Know Is Wrong > Everything You Know Is Wrong Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2002, 09:05 PM   #1
Refugee
 
Mirrorball Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: WI
Posts: 1,143
Local Time: 09:19 PM
HELP! How do you ...

Okay. I don't know how to explain this in a concise fashion, but how do you record from one tape to another? Hallelujah and I are trying to tape some U2 stuff so we can come one step closer to our goal of having the exact same U2 collection. We have two VCRs. We have the wires connecting the video and audio input on one to the video and audio output on the other. We've tried pressing play on one while we press record on the other. However, it doesn't seem to work. We're obviously missing something here. Can any helpful interferencer enlighten us??

------------------
"Adam's in his world, lost to the music. You've probably never seen a happier person in your life."
~BP Fallon

"It's a damn poor mind that can only think of one way to spell a word."
~Andrew Jackson

~~S&C~~
__________________

Mirrorball Girl is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 09:33 PM   #2
Refugee
 
BostonAnne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,052
Local Time: 10:19 PM
Do you also have this hooked up to a TV to see if the one you are playing is playing?

Make sure that the one hooked up to output is the one that you are playing, and the one hooked up to input is recording.
__________________

BostonAnne is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 09:35 PM   #3
War Child
 
Veranda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: my own dream landscape
Posts: 594
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Even though I've done this tons of times, each time I have to refigure it out. This is how my brother explained it to me:

take the cable from the wall and put in into 'in' on the VCR you'll tape from. Then you have to have an extra short cord to connect the two. Take that short cord and screw it into 'out' on the same VCR. Then connect the other end of it to 'in' on the second VCR, and put the cable from the TV set into 'out'- If a cable box is involved, the cable from the wall will be in it, so you have to work from there.

The biggest problem once it's hooked up is the channels. Most of the time it's trial and error. I had that problem just the other day. You have to keep trying different combinations of channel numbers on both VCR's and the TV, and you just have to keep trying until you see it come in. It's almost always a 2, 3, or 4. Once you see it come in with the TV on, try the VCR's. If you can't see the TV show with the VCR's on, it's not going to tape. After all this it's a good idea to do a short test, just a commercial or something, to see if it works before you suffer the frustration of thinking you taped or bootlegged something and then only get static! Good luck!

------------------
U2- The Unforgettable Fire still burns!
Veranda is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 09:40 PM   #4
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Hallelujah Here She Comes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,528
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by BostonAnne:
Do you also have this hooked up to a TV to see if the one you are playing is playing?

Make sure that the one hooked up to output is the one that you are playing, and the one hooked up to input is recording.
Yeah, we got that covered But thanks for tryin' to help

Hallelujah Here She Comes is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 09:49 PM   #5
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Hallelujah Here She Comes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,528
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Veranda:
Even though I've done this tons of times, each time I have to refigure it out. This is how my brother explained it to me:

take the cable from the wall and put in into 'in' on the VCR you'll tape from. Then you have to have an extra short cord to connect the two. Take that short cord and screw it into 'out' on the same VCR. Then connect the other end of it to 'in' on the second VCR, and put the cable from the TV set into 'out'- If a cable box is involved, the cable from the wall will be in it, so you have to work from there.

The biggest problem once it's hooked up is the channels. Most of the time it's trial and error. I had that problem just the other day. You have to keep trying different combinations of channel numbers on both VCR's and the TV, and you just have to keep trying until you see it come in. It's almost always a 2, 3, or 4. Once you see it come in with the TV on, try the VCR's. If you can't see the TV show with the VCR's on, it's not going to tape. After all this it's a good idea to do a short test, just a commercial or something, to see if it works before you suffer the frustration of thinking you taped or bootlegged something and then only get static! Good luck!

Thanks!!! We're still a bit confused, but we'll keep plugging away. We'll let you know if by some miracle we can get this to work
Hallelujah Here She Comes is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 09:58 PM   #6
Refugee
 
BostonAnne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,052
Local Time: 10:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Hallelujah Here She Comes:
Yeah, we got that covered But thanks for tryin' to help

I figured you did. the last thing I remember about doing this is that the Output VCR gets hooked up to the input VCR then input VCR to TV. The Input VCR channel has to be on line 2 or aux or something (not a channel #) to view what the output VCR is playing.
BostonAnne is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 10:04 PM   #7
Rock n' Roll Doggie
VIP PASS
 
doctorwho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: My TARDIS - currently located in San Leandro, CA
Posts: 6,359
Local Time: 06:19 PM
This should be fairly straight-forward.

Most likely you have VCR #1 hooked up directly to the TV. This connection is made by a single black cable.

Put the tape in VCR #2. Using those red, white and yellow ended chords (ones with three prongs), put those into the video and audio out plugs on VCR#2.

Then put the other end of the red, white and yellow chords into the video and audio in outlets on VCR #1.

Change the "station" on VCR-1 such that it is showing you the input from another source. Sometimes this is called "Video 1" or "Video 2." This is the same thing you would do if you plugged in a cam-recorder to your VCR, of if you hooked up your DVD to your system (and not directly to your TV).

Once VCR #1 is on the video 1 "station", press play on VCR #2. Remember, VCR #1 is hooked up to the TV - so now you should be able to see what is playing on VCR #2 through VCR #1.

Once you see the tape playing, hit record on VCR #1 and there ya go.

If this doesn't work, they you have older VCR's or TV's. The process is similar even with older equipment, but you might not have a "video 1" or "video 2" station.

Hope this helps.
doctorwho is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 11:32 PM   #8
Refugee
 
Mirrorball Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: WI
Posts: 1,143
Local Time: 09:19 PM
ThankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouTHANKYOU!!!!!! We just tried doctorwho's advice, and it worked like a charm!!!!!! *smothers doctorwho with kisses* Of course, one of my VCRs is currently malfunctioning so it turns itself off after playing for 10 seconds or so. (We're pretty sure this is because it is evil, and doesn't like us.) But that doesn't matter!! We know how to do it now!

Thanks to everyone who offered help. WOOHOO!

------------------
"Adam's in his world, lost to the music. You've probably never seen a happier person in your life."
~BP Fallon

"It's a damn poor mind that can only think of one way to spell a word."
~Andrew Jackson

~~S&C~~
Mirrorball Girl is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 11:38 PM   #9
Refugee
 
BostonAnne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,052
Local Time: 10:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Mirrorball Girl:
ThankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyouTHANKYOU!!!!!! We just tried doctorwho's advice, and it worked like a charm!!!!!!
BostonAnne is offline  
Old 03-15-2002, 11:39 PM   #10
Rock n' Roll Doggie
 
Hallelujah Here She Comes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 3,528
Local Time: 09:19 PM
*SMOOOOOOOOCH*
Hallelujah Here She Comes is offline  
Old 03-16-2002, 12:08 AM   #11
ONE
love, blood, life
 
david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: southern california
Posts: 10,436
Local Time: 07:19 PM
i think something is up with vcr's as of late. mine will play for 10 seconds stop eject the tape and turn itself off. my grandmothers does this too, and in the past 2 months 3 of the vcrs we have in our home have started malfunctioning too.



------------------
The more of these I drink the more Bono makes sense.. - Bean from the KROQ Breakfast with U2.
david is offline  
Old 03-16-2002, 12:49 AM   #12
Refugee
 
Mirrorball Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: WI
Posts: 1,143
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by david:
i think something is up with vcr's as of late. mine will play for 10 seconds stop eject the tape and turn itself off. my grandmothers does this too, and in the past 2 months 3 of the vcrs we have in our home have started malfunctioning too.

Are you kidding?? This is creepy! What brand VCR do you have? I wonder if they're all the same brand. The one I have that's malfunctioning is a Symphonic. I unearthed it from our basement, so maybe now I have some idea of why it was down there in the first place.
Mirrorball Girl is offline  
Old 03-16-2002, 01:08 AM   #13
The Fly
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 75
Local Time: 02:19 AM
Of course, you COULD have just consulted the manual(s).
Iron Chef MoFo is offline  
Old 03-16-2002, 01:20 AM   #14
Refugee
 
Mirrorball Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: WI
Posts: 1,143
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by Iron Chef MoFo:
Of course, you COULD have just consulted the manual(s).
Well ... since the VCRs in question were manufactured sometime before World War II, purchased approximately 5 years later, and then passed down from generation to generation in my family, the manuals weren't exactly handy. But yes, I suppose we could have consulted them.

But, then, why do that when the good people of interference are so helpful?
Mirrorball Girl is offline  
Old 03-16-2002, 09:36 AM   #15
New Yorker
 
EPandAmerica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,633
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Just wanted to mention, that if you record on the slowest speed (SP) you will get the best quality duplicate.
EPandAmerica is offline  
Old 03-16-2002, 11:00 AM   #16
MacPhisto's serving wench
 
The_Sweetest_Thing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Inside a bubble
Posts: 3,773
Local Time: 09:19 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by EPandAmerica:
Just wanted to mention, that if you record on the slowest speed (SP) you will get the best quality duplicate.
Isn't Slow Speed EP? Fast is SP...old VCRs have Lp...a mixture b/w both....

if you tape stuff on SP the tape runs out faster but the quality is grrreat.
__________________

The_Sweetest_Thing is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com
×