US/British: what do you think of English used by us non-native speakers? Also...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

U2girl

Blue Crack Addict
Have you ever met any non-native English speakers in person?
Did they develop any accents?

------------------

be uncool, yes be awkward

Originally posted by U2girl:
Have you ever met any non-native English speakers in person?
Did they develop any accents?

I think anyone who speaks English as well as the people on these forums, despite English not being their native language, is amazing
smile.gif

No, seriously, I have basically no ability to speak of in any language other than English so I'm really impressed by people who speak several languages fluently.

I was an exchange student in the US a couple of years back and I met someone there who was German but spoke English with an American accent. And, even funnier than that, I knew someone who was from Sweden and came to live in Liverpool and then spoke English with a broad Liverpool accent. It was quite amusing, at least to me
wink.gif

I have a farm-boy accent. uhehehe!

------------------
Look what you did, you little JERK!

Kevin! You're such a disease!

Originally posted by FizzingWhizzbees:
I think anyone who speaks English as well as the people on these forums, despite English not being their native language, is amazing
smile.gif

Shucks, my English isn't perfect you know! Just wait long enough and i'll make some spelling or grammar mistake.

But i can say i had good teachers and that i was lucky enough not to have any major problems along the way when studying English - everything is a lot easier if you have "an ear" for the language, if you know what i mean.

Erm, i additionally wanted to say thanks to all of the native speakers for putting up with any mistakes we may make when using English.

I keep my sentences really short
it helps
sometimes

------------------