post graduate studies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kobayashi

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
anyone have any interesting post-graduate experiences?

how far did you go: masters? doctorate? fellowship?...
was it worth it? academically and financially speaking in the long and short run?
did school begin to drag on just a few years to long or was it entirely fulfilling?

that's a lot of questions but come on...you're scholars!

I have a Masters in Architecture. I really enjoyed getting it, but have to tell you that it was the most work I have ever done. I have to say that I was "up all night" at least twice a week for three years. It was very intense.

Anyway, I have some friends who breezed through business school and are now making three times as much as I do. In retrospect, I do not know if it was worth it, or if it was just the field I decided to go into.

dunno.

I would say it is worth it to go back to school, however as I believe furthering one's education is always a good thing.

K:

What are you planning on going for?

ouizy said:
What are you planning on going for?

that would be the eternal question, wouldn't it?
well i will be graduating with an honors degree in mass communication, a minor in economics, and all the requirements for a minor in what is best described as societal effects of emerging technologies(multi-disciplinary platform involving communications, sociology, science, engineering and economics).

logical continuations for at least a masters are communications or journalism. i have also looked at urban design which is a recreational topic which has peaked my interest in recent months.

i guess i have to figure out possible careers and see if masters and/or doctorate would pay off. ultimately, and sadly, it is a largely financial decision.

Can I add another question to the list? (If not, ignore me.)

How did you fund graduate school?