Ladies: Hair Color???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liesje

Blue Crack Addict
I kind of want to color my hair but I need advice. I've never done ANYTHING to my hair before besides have my friends or mom cut it (no highlights, no hair salons, nothing). My hair color is I guess a light-to-medium brown. Kind of a dry, dirty brown color. I want it to be a bit darker brown so it's more of an even, sheer color. Can I do it with something I buy at the store or do I have to shell out big bucks for a professional do? Also, will sun do anything to it? I'm in the sun a LOT during the summer. Below is a picture of me and my hair (it's a bit lighter in the real pic b/c of the sun and it gets lighter over the summer):

me.jpg
myhair.bmp

What do you guys think?

EDIT: I guess it looks kinda red there b/c of our bathroom light...but it's not red at all.

Last edited:
OK, well, uh Ellen just scanned my hair so here is a better representation:

scan0016.jpg

I don't know exactly how I want it, just darker, so please post suggestions

You could totally use a box dye if you want. It can be messy doing it at home and hard to get it even. If you go to a salon supply shop and buy a brush and put the dye in a bowl, that generally gives you a better application.

There are several good brands right now in the stores--My sister and I have had good luck with the newest Garnier and Loreal ones. They're gentle on your hair and last a long time, and the color they advertise are what you really get!

When picking out a color, you might want to go one *darker* because they tend to come out lighter than they say, or fade quickly.

I say go for it--dye whatever color you want! It's always fixable. :)

If you have someone help you, doing it at home is really easy...and like AvsGirl said, Garnier and Loreal are really good brands.