I need networking help again....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liesje

Blue Crack Addict
...Some of you may remember when I needed help setting up my parents' DSL and the suggestions of those here helped me solve the problem. I am a computer tech, but don't really do any networking/internet stuff and now I have a problem of my own....

We have SBC DSL with a SpeedStream 5100 modem, Linksys 4-port router, and then an 8-port hub upstairs. On Thursday, our internet just stopped working. This has happened before, so like usual we cycle power to the modem and router. Still nothing. All of the lights on the modem are a solid green (good), except the "Activity" light is blank, or quickly flashes green every few minutes or so. The router was setup when I moved in and I don't even know the password for it so it's not like I changed the config of the router. I thought, screw the router, so I setup my laptop straight into the modem like it should be and got the same result. No "Activity". The computer says "limited or no connectivity" and will not repair the IP address. ipconfig /all shows a bunch of random garbage for the IP and other addresses (like, the IP address has letters too...looks more like a MAC address...I dunno).

So, using a dial-up login I have through PeoplePC, I did an online support chat and the tech said "our DSL line tested perfect". Then I call the support line this morning, but they won't help me b/c I don't have the sbcglobal.net username and password. I moved in after this was setup, so the girl before me knows that and she's long gone. They won't change it for me even though the account is now billed to me and I can't figure out the username b/c I get an online bill, not the printed one w/ the info.