help me interferencers - U2 Feedback

Go Back   U2 Feedback > Lypton Village > Lemonade Stand > Lemonade Stand Archive
Click Here to Login
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2003, 10:02 PM   #1
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
help me interferencers

when i hook up my digital camera to my computer, an icon should pop up which lets me view the images and drag them to my desktop. for some reason, this icon no longer appears. where is it? what can i do?

keep in mind, i have an imac, so i cannot 'right click' anything.
__________________

beegee is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:06 PM   #2
ONE
love, blood, life
 
yertle-the-turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: York, UK and Singapore
Posts: 11,750
Local Time: 06:26 AM
go to the drives section

i guess there should be something that says 'removable drive'
__________________

yertle-the-turtle is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:10 PM   #3
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
there is no 'drives section'.
try again.

beegee is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:15 PM   #4
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,349
Local Time: 02:26 PM
Yikes, that's what I would have suggested.

When I plug in my camera I can go to the drives and the camera makes its own drive, and from there I can access the pictures.

You have to have drives, even though its a mac.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:16 PM   #5
ONE
love, blood, life
 
yertle-the-turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: York, UK and Singapore
Posts: 11,750
Local Time: 06:26 AM
no 'my computer' like thing (that was what i was referring to)

i suppose you can do the 'check if the thing really is stuck inside the usb port' thing

sorry I couldn't be more help
yertle-the-turtle is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:35 PM   #6
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
i have an applications folder.
but i have searched everywhere.
it's just gone.
beegee is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:36 PM   #7
ONE
love, blood, life
 
yertle-the-turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: York, UK and Singapore
Posts: 11,750
Local Time: 06:26 AM
nothing like 'my computer'?

perhaps you might want to try the equivalent of windows explorer

the master list of files (not apps)
yertle-the-turtle is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:44 PM   #8
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
Quote:
Originally posted by yertle-the-turtle
nothing like 'my computer'?
i have 'about this mac'
but it's not there.
beegee is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:47 PM   #9
ONE
love, blood, life
 
yertle-the-turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: York, UK and Singapore
Posts: 11,750
Local Time: 06:26 AM
well I can't suggest anymore

other than you re-plug the thing and see whether the icon pops up.

sorry.
yertle-the-turtle is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:51 PM   #10
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,349
Local Time: 02:26 PM
Try re-installing the camera software (if you have some installed).

Reboot your computer, re-plug in the camera after you do all this.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:52 PM   #11
Sizzlin' Sicilian
Forum Administrator
 
Sicy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 69,349
Local Time: 02:26 PM
You can also try doing a search on your computer for the name of that icon and see if it maybe went somewhere else.
__________________
Sicy is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 10:55 PM   #12
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM


i've done that. i guess what i need to know is, how can i get it back if it's gone?
beegee is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 11:20 PM   #13
Jesus Online
 
Angela Harlem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: a glass castle
Posts: 30,163
Local Time: 09:26 AM
is the install disk still around?
sounds like you've tried everything.
__________________
<a href=https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v196/angelaharlem/thPaul_Roos28.jpg target=_blank>https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...aul_Roos28.jpg</a>
Angela Harlem is offline  
Old 07-25-2003, 11:31 PM   #14
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
i really don't understand what the fug is going on.
but thanks for the suggestions everyone.
i think i'll have someone come look at it tomorrow.
beegee is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 12:56 AM   #15
An Angel In Devil's Shoes
 
ABEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 18,844
Local Time: 04:26 PM
have you checked your extension settings? I haven't used a mac in years, but maybe something got turned off in the extensions?
ABEL is offline  
Old 07-29-2003, 10:08 PM   #16
Acrobat
 
therulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fountain Hills, Arizona , USA
Posts: 412
Local Time: 03:26 PM
Try this..

I know the easiest way to do it on a pc is to update the drivers associated with it, but it has been years since I played with a Mac. I have xp loaded on a P4 so it is pretty easy..when uninstalled the right drivers automatically are re-installed by windows..and it it installs the external removable drive (g: in my case) as a removable disk drive automatically when I plug in the camera and turn it on and to "pc", and I load what pictures I wish to keep. I didn't load any software for the camera.

Do you have a drivers management console of some sort on your mac?

Check to see if you have a driver conflict or IRQ conflict with your USB port.

Go to wherever your drivers are managed and check to see if your USB is correctly set up and active. Uninstall and reinstall the drivers if necessary.

If your camera is loaded up as a hardware imaging source on your drivers tree update the drivers. It is best to get them from the manufacturer for your device and to see if there are additional tweaks you need to do for it to show up.

Check your USB cable.

Check to see if it is connected properly to your motherboard, inside.

Check to see if your digital camera is set to "computer" and on.

Check your camera batteries.
therulz is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 07:30 AM   #17
ONE
love, blood, life
 
zonelistener's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: six convenient metro locations
Posts: 14,747
Local Time: 05:26 PM
I bet it is the USB cable.
zonelistener is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 10:42 AM   #18
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
zoney is very wise.
beegee is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 12:48 PM   #19
Refugee
 
Klaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: on a one of these small green spots at that blue planet at the end of the milky way
Posts: 2,432
Local Time: 11:26 PM
bonosgirl84:
Why don't you just call the camera manufacturer and ask him for help?
Klaus is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 06:14 PM   #20
Neon Zebra
 
beegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: southern nevada
Posts: 10,607
Local Time: 03:26 PM
thanks, klaus.
it turned out that the usb cable was frayed at the very end.
yes, even i am capable of falling victim to dumb blonde syndrome once in a while.

__________________

beegee is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Design, images and all things inclusive copyright © Interference.com
×