Getting a Job

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WildHoneyAlways

Rock n' Roll Doggie FOB
I'd like to ask all those wise ones out there for some help. I am a high school teacher but I can not find a job. Yes, yes, they say there is a teacher shortage but they are full of sh*t. I finished my teacher certification last May and have not been able to find a position. It is totally possible that I am a horrible interview. It is entirely possible that I am not aggressive enough.

For those of you who have jobs, how did you get them? How do I answer the question "why should we hire you?" I am desparate and open to all suggestions. :wink: Thanks!

WHA -

there is a shortage...but it is often in school districts and areas of the country people would otherwise NOT want to teach in. Have you tried inner-city Chicago? You get paid well, but, from what I hear, it is quite defeating.

I had a friend move to a somewhat remote city in California to "help a shortage." She HATED it...but got some experience and returned to Minnesota and found a good job.

As for prior employment...I finally went to Alexander's last month. I wimped out had the chef's cook for me. :D