European Folks, need some advice......

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Elvis Presley

Rock n' Roll Doggie VIP PASS
Ok, maybe not all Europeans, but quite a few....

Heres the deal, Im taking a trip on Christmas day....flying into Amsterdam, spending some time there, going to Paris for New years......and from there travelling around Germany for the next week or so....

I need to know what I cannot miss, this is my first time in Europe so I need some advice, also, how can I avoid looking American?

I want to kinda blend in.....

Also what to do in Paris on New Years Eve.....

any help iss appreciated....

lol, well I am not European (yet), but I am spending 8 months of the year there, been there for four, going back for four more.

Don't wear tennis shoes. Seems to me that it screams American. Also, my impressions have been that we dress more casually here than they do there. I wouldn't wear T-shirts. Then again, that's probably a no-brainer, cuz it is winter. lol.

Amsterdam is great. It's a lot more than sex and pot. Rent a bike if you can. Check out the Rijksmuseum if you are into art...lots of Rembrant and Vermeer. Don't miss Chartres (outside Paris) if you are into cathedrals or stained glass at all! It's probably the best Gothic cathedral in Europe. Berlin is supposed to be awesome! Unfortunately, I only got to hang out in the Zoo Station. If you have a chance at all, I would completely and totally recommend you swing over to Prague in the Czech Republic. It is far and away the most gorgeous city in Europe!!! As far as Germany, I have heard good things about Neuschwanstein (sp?) as a castle. The cathedral in Cologne (Koln) is also great and easy to see if you just have a quick stop there (it is right outside the station). Utrecht, near Amsterdam, is also really pretty and worth a visit or a stop on your way east.

*sigh*