HELP: Student Loans...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Liesje

Blue Crack Addict
OK, I need some advice about student loans. My parents never had any (my dad never finished school and my mom lived at home and had enough scholarships) and I don't have any close friends with student loans, so I don't know much about them. I'm wondering what's the best way to go about paying them back. Right now I'm a sophomore and owe a little over $20,000 on four different loans. :crack: :banghead: Two of them are federal ones that do accumulate interest, but they don't send bills so we'll forget about those for the moment (ignorance is bliss, no?). The other two are the ones I'm concerned with. Last year's loan I have been paying interest on so it's not gone above the original principal, and this year's has just been sent in so interest is starting this month. I don't want to make a huge financial mistake and regret it later. Do you pay them off one at a time? Or try and keep up paying the interest on both and put a little extra towards the principal of both whenever you can? Or, just ignore them until I'm done with school? Anyone been in/currently in a similar situation? I don't know anyone with loans so I've run out of people to ask. Any advice???

I only have one student loan. Due to a mistake on their part (Sallie Mae) they started collecting before I graduated... they're supposed to wait 6 months after graduation... or at least that's Sallie Mae's policy. I was able to afford it so I didn't complain and started sending in payments even before I was finished with school. So if you can afford it, I suggest you don't wait until you're done with school.