Edge of Time - Chapter 5

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DreamOutLoud13

Blue Crack Addict
Yes, I've been a very naughty fanfic writer. Over three weeks between chapters! What can I say? Life got in the way. No fears though, the next chapter is ready, though I can't say it's as exciting as some of the previous chapters. But perhaps the best is yet to come? We'll see :p Hopefully it won't take me three weeks to write the next one!

Chapter Five

Once inside the small shop, Emma and Katie quickly parted ways, as their taste in clothing, at least by 1992 standards, differed greatly.
Katie quickly found a rack of suitable jeans and picked a pair in her size. Next she chose a rather plain t-shirt, and a plaid flannel shirt to go over it. In 1992 she'd been a little to young to grasp onto the grunge culture, but later in life she respected it greatly. Respected it enough to know that spending as much money as she was about to on grunge clothing was ridiculous, but right now she didn't have enough time to shop around.
With the outfit slung over her arm, she moved across the shop, where she found Emma standing beside a rack of blouses, her hands on the clothes, but her eyes staring off into space. Katie slid up beside her.
"Earth to Emma, Earth to Emma."
Emma turned her head slowly, blinking. "What?"
"How long have you been standing there like that?"
"Like what?"
"Like your mind is on another planet. What are you thinking about?"
"Edge." Emma said his name quickly, the colour rising in her cheeks.
Katie raised her eyebrows. "Edge?"
Emma's face got even redder, and she tried to hide it by suddenly becoming heavily interested in a denim jacket hanging on the wall nearby.
"Oh no, Emma. I know you fancy him, but no. Don't even think it."
Emma turned back to Katie. "I know, I know. But we're so close in age now, and he's single, and I can't help myself."