A Warrior's Homecoming: Prologue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ALass4Larry

Acrobat
Trying to break free from Larry's subconcious
Hi All,
I'm a big fan of historical fiction so I thought I'd give it a whirl here. It might be intresting to see characters based on band members set in a different time. Well, at least it does in my mind...ANYWAY, the following story is total fiction, no disrespect to anyone intended, any resemblence to U2 members is strictly for entertainment purposes. I hope it reads as good in print as it does in my mind. Comments welcome but it's my first time...be gentle.

Prologue: Ireland, 1554

Samhain was his favorite festival, one he looked forward to each year. Of course, when your birthday fell on the same day as any festival extra fun was always to be had.
His favorite part had always been the bonfire. The young ones in the village gathered 'round singing songs to the spirits of their ancestors, with a few thrown in especially for him. This year was different, though. He'd noticed, since sunset, the millers daughter, Brigid, staring at him, like she was seeing him for the first time. They'd known each other all their lives. Every harvest he and his Da would bring their wheat crop to the miller to be ground into flour.