Thanks to U2+ Thoughts of Vertigo '05

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jphelmet

Refugee
(Disclaimer- I was simply trying to put down into words what seeing this band 23 times over the last 13 years has meant and why this tour was so special. This is rambling and not as cohesive as I would like- but I am not a writer. Words cannot really describe fully my thought on this anyway )

Just a few thoughts on my U2 vertigo tour. I got to see 6 shows, 3 in may, 2 in November, and one in December. I think this is a wonderful tour, and really this band is still at the top of their game. There has been no let down in the last 13 years since I first was them on March 13, 1992 when I was a freshman in high school. Without comparing each tour, and trying to declare a winner between any certain tours- I would say this tour is as good as anything they have done. Maybe it’s the time in my life, and the unknown of ever getting to see U2 again- or if they will tour again but something about this tour stirred a lot emotions- different from past shows. Different in that, these shows were very personal and reflective for me. I spent almost all six shows just quietly watching, taking it all in. I was, while at each show (and still am), continually amazed at what this band does every night. I was struck by the chances Bono takes every night. Chance to look like an absolute fool in order to connect with a large audience (crawling on stage during bullet, his drum playing on lapoe, and doing magic tricks to a child on stage). Chances by pouring out his heart about Africa and the things he cares so much about. Chances by so getting inside those songs when he sings each night and then doing it over and over. Chances to show his faith and what he believes in (Yahweh, Gloria, 40, the First time). This band is so great because this is not just a show, they are not just entertaining, this is what