Please allow me to introduce myself...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Carmanah

The Fly
Hello everyone,

My name is Robyn Hanson - not really Hewson, but I suppose Hanson's close enough. ;) I'm 22 years old and I'm a life long resident of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. (That's on the west coast for those of you who are geographically challenged) ;)

I originally joined Interference back in April 2001 but haven't really visited it until now! I can't believe what I've been missing!

So I thought I would introduce myself and tell everyone a bit about how I got into U2. :) As I was born in 1980, I wasn't aware of U2 until they were midway through their career.

I remember being in grade 3, there was a boy in my class named Alim who had a U2: Rattle And Hum shirt. My friend Lori saw his shirt and asked Alim, "Did you see Rattle and Hum?" and he replied, "Yeah...my Mom took me! We went to the theatre yesterday!"

So for several years throughout my childhood, I associated U2 to with movie. Not a band. Just a movie. I was sort of right. ;)

In 1990 my family decided to leave "TV stone age" and subscribe to get more than 13 channels, hehe... so for the first time in my life, at the age of 9 or 10, our household got channel 29 - Much Music! I was so fascinated with Much Music at the time... watching Madonna's "Oh Father" music video, or Fine Young Cannibal's "She Drives Me Crazy". While my parents weren't strict, I always assumed they wouldn't want me watching Much Music, so I would sit there watching it with the volume down low. Whenever they'd walk in, I'd switch the channel. Don't ask me why I did that... it was one of my strange childhood quirks! But it was around this time that I caught U2's "Where The Streets Have No Name" music video. I watched the entire thing, but never thought much of it.