Live8 Impact on HTDAAB & Back Catalogue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

timothius

Rock n' Roll Doggie FOB
Hey all, I'm new to this little sub-forum, but hope to hang around as I find it very intriguing.

My question is what affect (if any) are you predicting that U2's promiminent performance at Live8 will have on album sales for HTDAAB as well as JT & BO1980-1990, which from my reading tend to pick up extra sales whenever U2 gets prominent.

But I'm not the expert, so I'm wondering will we see a Superbowlesque spike or something similar to the grammy's which was merely a whimper?

mmm...very interesting consideration....

in my opinion only a great performance can help the albums to rise the chart....because there are a lot of performance like coldplay,pink floyd,muse,sir paul macca ecc.very very important.

IMo if u2 will do a big show they will have positive effect in chart!

does anyone think that U2's performace at live 8 was good enough, to sell more copies of HTDAAB, or any of their back catalogue?

Yes, the performance was good enough. The i-tunes-download from Seargent Pepper is no. 1 and i also think that U2 will sell worldwide more copies in the next week. But this is only a small effect, because all the world-stars performed yesterday and so the live 8 effect will reach a lot of musicians.

they should release Seargent Pepper as a single giving the money to charity. although i dislike Paul McCartney and The Beatles.

ybird3k said:
does anyone think that U2's performace at live 8 was good enough, to sell more copies of HTDAAB, or any of their back catalogue?

Yes, IMO their performance was in the top 3 with Razorlight & Velvet Revolver. I think Bomb could now go back into the top 20 in UK next week (it's now # 4 at ASDA supermarkets).