Lillian's Grace

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that follows U2.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

UpwiththeSun

The Fly
This is a poem I have been working on for almost 20 years. I finally finished it thank's to U2's song "Grace". It is about my grandparents who died on the same day when I was 14.(woops just gave away my age)Majxtc's touching story inspired me to post this. My grandmother suffered for many years from breast cancer. My grandfather died from a sudden heart attack within 15 minutes after she died. It is for my father. I have not given it to him yet, but plan on giving it to him on his next birthday. He and his mother shared the same birthday.

Lillian's Grace

A son born on the same day as she
with memories of a gracious day.
Their hearts warmed by the sun above
until she had to suffer that way.

A husband's love to shelter her fear
of a cold, dark winter sea.
He prayed to God to send a sign
to set her weary soul free.

He watched from the shore as
the sunset touched his face.
Over the water the sunlight formed
a path leading to grace.

He followed her that fall day
as they walked to eternal peace.
She will no longer suffer.
Their pain will finally cease.

On a warm gracious day the
warmth returned to the son.
He realized that two had found grace.
Not just one.

------------------
"Maybe you could educate my mind"

Originally posted by UpwiththeSun:
My grandmother suffered for many years from breast cancer. My grandfather died from a sudden heart attack within 15 minutes after she died.